Skip to main content
Most King County offices will be closed on Monday, May 29, 2017, for Memorial Day.  
King County logo

Clerk's Office responsibilities include the receipt and disbursement of most type of payments made in superior court cases.  State and County laws mandate the collection and disbursement of these fees and fines.  All fees must be paid in advance per RCW 36.18.060.

legal0012
Fee Amount:

For fees related to filing, obtaining copies and other clerk's services, see the "Fee Schedule Listing" below.  Click on the fee topic to see a listing of the costs and legal reference authorizing the fee amount.  Download a copy here.

Fee Payment:

For information on acceptable payment methods, click on the "Fee Payment Information" tab.

Fee Waiver:

For forms and instruction to request a waiver of filing fees, to appeal a non-compliance or request a waiver of Clerk's fees, or to obtain more information regarding a waiver of Superior Court program fees, click on the "Fee Waiver Information" tab.

Contact Us:

For help, Clerk's Office staff are available to assist you by phone (206-296-9300, TTY: 206-296-0100), via email (DJA.CustomerServiceEmail@kingcounty.gov) or at any public counter in one of the three Clerk's Office locations.

Payments
Payment Information:
  • Filing fees and services paid in-person may be made in cash, by check or money order, credit or debit card.  Payments sent through the mail must be made by check or money order.
  • Checks must be drawn on a Washington State bank with the payer's name and address imprinted on the check.  Checks and money orders must be made payable to the "Clerk."
  • Payments for filing fees and services made online must be made by electronic check or credit card.  Note that a transaction service charge applies to electronic payments.
  • For information regarding payments on Legal Financial Obligations, click here.

This page contains topic areas where fee waivers or reductions are possible.

Filing Fees

The following instructions and forms can be used to request a waiver of filing fees in civil and family law court cases.

Instructions: Forms:

The forms are available at no cost in the Clerk's Office or the Family Law Facilitators Office (Seattle Courthouse: W-382; Maleng Regional Justice Center in Kent: 3-D), and on the Washington Courts website: www.courts.wa.gov (directly: Forms: General Rule 34 Request for Waiver of Civil Filing Fees and Surcharges).

Clerk's Fees

Read the following instructions and complete the form(s) to request a Clerk's fee waiver for ECR Online, Ex Parte via the Clerk and Expedited fees.

If you believe that you have received a non-compliance invoice in error and you have already spoken with the clerk whose name and number is listed on your notice, you may submit an appeal form:

Family Court Service Fees

Interpreter Services

Interpreter Services are provided at no cost for all court events.  From Afghani to Zulu, King County Superior Court's Office of Interpreter Services (OIS) obtains interpreters for more than 140 different languages to assist non-English speakers with court matters.


Fee Waiver Rules and Statutes

Fee Schedule Listing (effective July 24, 2015)

Fee Description Reference
$240.00 Appeal from Administrative hearing decision RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$230.00 Civil Appeal from lower court RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$200.00 Criminal Appeal from lower court (Imposed when affirmed or dismissed) RCW 36.18.020(2)(h)
$290.00 Notice of Appeal to Appellate Court (Make check payable to King County Clerk) RCW 2.32.070; RCW 36.18.018(2,4)
$0.50 Clerk's Papers, per page RAP 9.7(a); RCW 36.18.016(21)
Actual
cost
Transmittal of record and exhibits RAP 9.8; RAP 15.4
Fee Description Reference
$53.00 Antiharassment Action RCW 36.18.020(2)(d)
$20.00 Change of Venue Transfer Fee (Copy fees, if applicable, are in addition) RCW 36.18.016(19)
$240.00 Change of Venue, Civil (Make check payable to the Clerk of the County to which the case is transferred) RCW 4.12.090-100; RCW 36.18.016(16)
$260.00 Change of Venue, Domestic (Make check payable to the Clerk of the County to which the case is transferred) RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$20.00 Citations (Original and one conformed copy) KCC 4A.630.040
$240.00 Civil Action RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Civil Counterclaim, Cross-Claim or Third-Party Claim RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$260.00 Counter Petition in a Domestic Relations Action RCW 36.18.016(16)
$260.00 Custody of Child - Non-Parental RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$314.00 Dissolution of Marriage RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(2)(b); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$50.00 Emancipation of a Minor RCW 36.18.014; RCW 13.64.020
$200.00 Extension of Judgment RCW 36.18.016(15)
$240.00 Foreign Judgment, Civil RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$260.00 Foreign, Judgment, Domestic RCW 36.18.016(16)
$35.00 Frivolous Claim of Lien RCW 36.18.012(9); RCW 60.70.060
$240.00 Judicial Review RCW 34.05.514; RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$250.00 Jury Demand - 12 Jurors RCW 36.18.016(3)
$125.00 Jury Demand - 6 Jurors RCW 36.18.016(3)
$314.00 Legal Separation / Invalidity RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(2)(b); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$220.00 Mandatory Arbitration Fee (in addition to filing fee) RCW 36.18.016(25); KCC 4A.630.070
$56.00 Modification of King County Decree; or, Counterclaim, Cross-Claim or Third-Party Claim RCW 36.18.016(2); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$260.00 Modification of Decree other than King County RCW 36.18.020(2,4); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$20.00 Petition to Strike Restrictive Covenants RCW 49.60.227; RCW 36.18.012(6)
$20.00 Registration of Land (Torrens Act) RCW 65.12.780; RCW 36.18.016(14)
$20.00 Subpoena (Original and one conformed copy) KCC 4A.630.040
$250.00 Request for Trial De Novo RCW 36.18.016(26)
$20.00 Tax Warrant RCW 36.18.012(10)
$20.00 Transcript from District Court, Abstract of Judgment, or Verdict from any Superior or Federal Court in the State of Washington RCW 36.18.012(2)
$260.00 Uniform Parentage Act filings RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(16)

Residential Unlawful Detainer:
$85.00      > Default RCW 36.18.012(4); RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$157.00      > Counterclaim, Cross-Claim or Third-Party Claim RCW 36.18.012(4); RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$112.00      > Additional Fee Required by Plaintiff for an Order to Show Cause and/or if Answer is Filed RCW 36.18.012(4); RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Non-Residential Unlawful Detainer RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$260.00 Wage Assignment for Paternity and Child Support Enforcement RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$20.00 Warrant (Original and one conformed copy) KCC 4A.630.040
$25.00 Water Rights Filing Fee RCW 36.18.016(17); RCW 90.030.180
$20.00 Writ (Original and one conformed copy) KCC 4A.630.040
$20.00 Any Writ issued by the Clerk to include Order of Sale on Judicial Foreclosure RCW 36.18.016(6); RCW 36.18.050
Fee Description Reference
$200.00
Filing fee
RCW 10.01.160; RCW 10.01.170

Crime Victim Penalty Assessment:
$500.00
     > Felony or Cross Misdemeanor
RCW 7.68.035(1)(a)
$250.00
     > Misdemeanor
RCW 7.68.035(1)(a)
$100.00
LFO collection fee
RCW 36.18.016(29)
Variable
Other costs as imposed by the Court
RCW 10.01.160; RCW 10.01.170
Fee Description Reference

Crime Victim Penalty Assessment:
$100.00      > Felony or Gross Misdemeanor RCW 7.68.035(1)(b)
$75.00      > Misdemeanor RCW 7.68.035(1)(b)
Fee Description Reference
$260.00 Adoption filing RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 36.18.016(16)
$240.00 Guardianship filing (There is no fee on cases with assets less than $3,000 when a Court Order so states) RCW 36.18.020(2,5); RCW 11.88.030(3)
$5.00 Letters of Administration, Testamentary, or Guardianship; Form K RCW 36.18.016(9)
$240.00 Notice to Creditors (Non-Probate) RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Petition Admitting Rejected Will, or Contesting Will, or Objecting to a Written Agreement or Memorandum RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Probate filing RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Counterclaim, Cross-Claim or Third-Party Claim RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Counter Petition, Cross-Claim or Third-Party Claim RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 Registration of Trust RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$20.00 Certification of Trust KCC 4A.630.040
$20.00 TEDRA Non-Judicial Binding Agreement, in an existing case RCW 36.18.012(8)
$240.00 TEDRA Non-Judicial Binding Agreement, filed as a new case RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$240.00 TEDRA Summons and Petition RCW 36.18.020(2,5)
$20.00 Will filing only - No Probate of Decedent's Estate RCW 36.18.012(7)
$20.00 Will Repository RCW 36.18.016(28)
Fee Description Reference/Other

Settlements, Tender, Bonds, Garnishments, Judgments, Interpleader:
$10.00      > On each payment of $25.01 and over KCC 4A.630.120(B)(2)

Exceptions to Trust Account Service Fees:

     > A payment of $25.00 or less

     > Fee waived by the Clerk on the basis of a Hardship Affidavit on file (Applications are available at the Clerk's Financial Services counters)

     > Fee waived by the Court (Requires a Court Order)
Fee Description Reference

Abstract of Judgment (prepared by the clerk):
$5.00      > For the first page of each document RCW 36.18.016(4)
$1.00      > For each additional page RCW 36.18.016(4)
$0.50 Copies prepared by staff, per page (non-certified) RCW 36.18.016(4)
$2.00 Administering an Oath - Per Seal on document requiring signature by the Clerk RCW 36.18.016(5)

Authenticated or Exemplified Copies:
$9.00      > For the first page of each document RCW 36.18.016(4)
$1.00      > For each additional page RCW 36.18.016(4)
$5.00      > If Exemplified Copy of Money Judgment (includes Abstract of Judgment) RCW 36.18.016(4)
$2.00 Conformed Copies with State Seal RCW 36.18.016(4)

Certified Copies:
$5.00      > For the first page of each document RCW 36.18.016(4)
$1.00      > For each additional page RCW 36.18.016(4)
$20.00 Supplemental Proceedings (filing motion / order to appear or note for hearing) RCW 36.18.016(7)
$30.00 Ex Parte Orders (For a single submission of 1 - 5 Orders per case) RCW 36.18.016(12)

Exhibits:
$20.00      > Disposal of court exhibits KCC 4A.630.150
$20.00      > Conversion of file exhibits KCC 4A.630.160
$30.00 Expedited Service Fee, in addition to the regular service fee KCC 4A.630.170
$15.00 Extra Handling / Faulty Document Fee for each incomplete or incorrect document KCC 4A.630.060
$0.50 Forms, per page RCW 36.18.016(4)

5% of
earned
interest

Investment Service Fee: Court ordered investment of Trust Funds of $2,000 or more RCW 36.48.090
$50.00 Non-Compliance KCC 4A.630.020
$20.00 Non-Judicial Filing (Filing any paper not related to or part of any proceeding) RCW 36.18.012(3)
$35.00 Dishonored Payment Service Charge, per item KCC 4A.600.100
$4.00 Program Report Fee, per page RCW 36.18.016(11)
$30.00 Search Records, per hour (one hour minimum) RCW 36.18.016(11)
$0.25 Self-Service Microfilm Copies or ECR Image Duplications, per page RCW 36.18.016(4)
$20.00 Additional charge for copies made on Compact Disk (CD) RCW 36.18.016(4)
$0.15 Self-Service Photocopies, per page KCC 4A.630.110
$25.00 Video - Copy (For copy of previously recorded courtroom proceedings) RCW 36.18.016(13)

Audio Recording Copy:
$10.00      > Cassette Tape RCW 36.18.016(13)
$25.00      > Compact Disk RCW 36.18.016(13)
$7.00 Handling Fee (For mailing items when a self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE) is not provided) KCC 4A.630.180
$3.00 Postage (For mailing when SASE is not provided) KCC 4A.630.180
$20.00 Electronic Working Copies KCC 4A.630.190
$5.00 Daily New Case Report KCC 4A.630.200
$5.00 Daily Judgments Audit Report KCC 4A.630.200
$200.00 Continuing Legal Education Program KCC 4A.630.050