Skip to main content
King County logo

The mission of King County Emergency Management is to provide leadership and high-quality services that improve the safety of the public in King County. Our office specializes in disaster mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. In addition to natural and technological disasters, many homeland security issues are also coordinated through this office.

In addition, a team of volunteers supports King County Emergency Management during activations of our Emergency Coordination Center (ECC). The ECC Support Team participates in trainings, exercises, and emergency coordination activities throughout the year.

Our priorities include four specific outcomes:

  • Regional emergency services - To provide region-wide planning and emergency response coordination for jurisdictional and private sector partners.OEM Annual Report 2017 Cover
  • Standards based programs - To achieve a state of continuous improvement by measuring quality, cost, delivery, safety, and morale.
  • Resilient and inclusive systems - To have the ability to prepare and plan for, absorb, respond to, recover from, and adapt more successfully to adverse events.
  • Quality workforce - To develop a strong workforce made up of internal and external partners, ready to coordinate emergency response and recovery.

Our 2017 Annual Report provides specific examples of how we've achieved these outcomes.

 

 

Leadership

Walt Hubbard, Director
206-205-4060
Walt.Hubbard@kingcounty.gov

Jody Miller, Deputy Director
206-205-4062
Jody.Miller@kingcounty.gov

Melody Hall, Confidential Secretary
206-205-4058
Melody.Hall@kingcounty.gov

Plans

Amy Gillespie, Senior Program Manager
206-205-4066
Amy.Gillespie@kingcounty.gov

Janice Rahman, Hazard Mitigation and Recovery
206-205-4061
Janice.Rahman@kingcounty.gov

Denise Mack, Region 6 Homeland Security
206-205-6352
Denise.Mack@kingcounty.gov

Tom Sharp, Mass Care and Response
206-205-4069
TSharp@kingcounty.gov

EM Operations

Tony Cebollero, Logistics and Resource Management
206-205-4059
Anthony.Cebollero@kingcounty.gov

Jason Shirron, Technical Operations and Volunteer Management
206-205-4068
Jason.Shirron@kingcounty.gov

Community Outreach

Lynne Miller, Media Relations
206-205-4031
Lynne.Miller@kingcounty.gov

Barnaby Dow, Governmental Affairs
206-205-4070
Barnaby.Dow@kingcounty.gov

Michelle Chatterton, Public Education and Outreach
206-205-6545
Michelle.Chatterton@kingcounty.gov

Finance and Administration

Veronica Hill, Business Finance Officer III
206-205-6347
Veronica.Hill@kingcounty.gov

Sarah Cox, Grants Analyst
206-205-6345
Sarah.Cox@kingcounty.gov

Sherrie Chatman, Administrative Specialist
206-205-4064
Sherrie.Chatman@kingcounty.gov

206-296-3830
Toll Free 1-800-523-5044

TTY Relay 711