Skip to main content
Most King County offices will be closed on Monday, May 29, 2017, for Memorial Day.  
King County logo

Effective: March 1, 2015

Bus / all zones / off-peak

  • $2.50
    for Adults (ages 19 to 64)
  • $1.50
    for Youth (ages 6 to 18)*
  • $1.50
    ORCA LIFT (Reduced Fare)**
  • $1.00
    for Seniors or disabled (RRFP)†

Bus / one-zone / peak

  • $2.75
    for Adults (ages 19 to 64)
  • $1.50
    for Youth (ages 6 to 18)*
  • $1.50
    ORCA LIFT (Reduced Fare)**
  • $1.00
    for Seniors or disabled (RRFP)†

Bus / two-zone / peak

  • $3.25
    for Adults (ages 19 to 64)
  • $1.50
    for Youth (ages 6 to 18)*
  • $1.50
    ORCA LIFT (Reduced Fare)**
  • $1.00
    for Seniors or disabled (RRFP)†

Access Transportation

  • $1.75
    ID Number Required‡

Notes:

For an explanation of zones and Peak/Off-peak fares use this link.

* Up to 4 children (ages 5 and under) ride free with a fare-paying passenger. More about traveling with children.

** For income-qualified adult riders. Eligibility required. Must be stored on ORCA Card. See if you qualify.

† For seniors (age 65+), individuals with disabilities or Medicare Card holders. Must show a Regional Reduced Fare Permit (RRFP).

‡ Paratransit service for persons whose disabilities prevent them from using regular bus service. Eligibility required. More about Access and how to apply.

Types of fares

  • ID Number Required‡

Available only for approved Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) participants with valid Access identification.

Accepted for fare payment by:

  • King County Metro buses
  • King County Water Taxi
  • South Lake Union Streetcar
  • Accessible Service vans

And all Sound Transit service including:

  • Link light rail
  • Sounder
  • and Regional Express buses, including those operating in neighboring counties.
Read more
  • Stored value on an ORCA card used in place of cash.

The value will automatically be used to supplement a pass if the fare for a trip is worth more than the pass value. When you pay with your E-purse, you will get a two-hour transfer credit*.

Accepted for fare payment by:

  • Metro Transit buses
  • King County Water Taxi
  • Sound Transit
  • Pierce Transit
  • Kitsap Transit
  • Everett Transit
  • and Washington State Ferries.

The E-purse cannot be used on Access Transportation.

*Two-hour transfers are not given or applicable on Washington State Ferries.

  • Accepted only on Metro buses

Transfers are free on Metro buses, however if you are paying with cash and use more than one transit system you will have to pay a fare each time you board a different bus (including Metro-operated Sound Transit buses).

  • Income-qualified riders

Get where you need to go. Pay a lot less to get there.

Now there's a more affordable way to get to work, school, shopping, day care or anywhere else you need to go. It's ORCA LIFT, a new, reduced transit fare that can help you get more out of your public transportation system.

Accepted for fare payment by:

  • Metro Transit buses
  • Kitsap Transit buses
  • Sound Transit Link light rail
  • Sound Transit Regional Express buses
  • Sounder Trains
  • King County Water Taxi
  • Seattle Streetcar
Read more

Enjoy unlimited rides on the region’s transit services for the day with the ORCA regional day pass. Two types of passes are available:

  • For fares up to $3.50
  • For fares up to $1.75
  • Regional day passes are loaded on ORCA cards.
  • Starts with first use and ends at 3 a.m. the next day.
  • Accepted for regular service on public buses, trains, streetcars and water taxis throughout the Central Puget Sound region.
  • Not valid on Washington State Ferries, King County Metro Access Transportation or paratransit services.
  • If the cost of your trip is more than $3.50 adult or $1.75 RRFP, youth or ORCA LIFT, pay the difference with E-purse stored on the ORCA card. On a bus, additional fare can also be paid with cash.
  • Can be purchased wherever ORCA cards are sold.
  • ORCA card is not included in price. ORCA cards cost $5 for an adult card; $3 for seniors (65+) or disabled with RRFP. ORCA cards are free for those that qualify for ORCA LIFT.
FAQ  Where to buy

A regional transit pass valid for unlimited rides in the valid month.

  • Held on your ORCA card
  • Accepted for regular service operated by Metro Transit, Community Transit, Everett Transit, Kitsap Transit, Pierce Transit and Sound Transit

The cost

Fare Value Monthly Cost
$0.50 $18.00
$0.75 $27.00
$1.00 $36.00
$1.25 $45.00
$1.50 $54.00
$1.75 $63.00
$2.00 $72.00
$2.25 $81.00
$2.50 $90.00
$2.75 $99.00
$3.00 $108.00
$3.25 $117.00
$3.50 $126.00
$3.75 $135.00
$4.00 $144.00
$4.25 $153.00
$4.50 $162.00
$4.75 $171.00
$5.00 $180.00
$5.25 $189.00
  • Eligibility required

The RRFP entitles senior riders (age 65+), riders with a disability and Medicare card holders to reduced fares on the following public transportation systems in the Puget Sound region:

  • Metro Transit
  • Community Transit
  • Everett Transit
  • Pierce Transit
  • Intercity Transit
  • Jefferson Transit
  • Skagit Transit
  • Kitsap Transit
  • Sound Transit
  • Mason Transit
  • Washington State Ferries
  • King County Water Taxi
  • South Lake Union Streetcar
Read more

A combination monthly pass valid for Metro Vanpool riders that provides unlimited rides on Metro buses and either $99 or $117 towards your Vanpool fare. Pay your vanpool fare with check, ORCA Card or employer-provided vouchers.

  • For fares up to $2.75
  • For fares up to $3.25

The ORCA card is all you need to pay your fare on public transportation in the Puget Sound region. An ORCA card works like cash or a pass, and also lets you transfer between the bus, Link light rail, Sounder, the Seattle streetcar and the King County Water Taxi.

Get more info about ORCA cards…

Zones

The city of Seattle is one zone and all areas outside the city, but within King County, are a second zone. Any time you cross the Seattle city limits during peak time, you will be charged a two-zone fare. If your trip begins or ends on a zone line, you pay a one-zone fare.

Peak & Off-Peak Fares

Peak fares are posted on the farebox on the bus, shown in the fare calculations in itineraries generated by the regional Trip Planner, and marked by shading on Metro's paper timetables.

  • Peak fares are charged on trips that:
    • Arrive in downtown Seattle between 6 AM to 9 AM or 3:30 PM to 6 PM on weekdays;
    • Leave downtown Seattle between 6 AM to 8:15 AM or 3 PM to 6 PM on weekdays, or otherwise
    • Operate at least half of their time during weekday peak hours of 6 AM to 9 AM or 3 PM to 6 PM
  • Peak fares are automatically calculated when an ORCA card is used.
  • An additional fare is indicated if an off-peak pass is used for a peak trip.
  • Peak fares are not charged on weekends or holidays.

Traveling with…

Bikes

Bikes and buses are both part of the solution for reducing traffic congestion and improving our environment. Please take a few minutes to read some basic tips on how bikes and buses can coexist effectively.

Read more

Children

If you’re bringing children with you on the bus or train, here are some helpful tips and safety reminders.

Read more

Service animals

Drivers are required to permit any customer with a service animal to ride King County Metro buses. This includes animals-in-training accompanied by a trainer or person with a disability.

Read more

Have questions about fares?
Please contact us.

Customer services offices
Lost & found
Comment forms