How to

Respond to a Petition for Child Support

Due to COVID-19, all hearings are being done by phone or video and most offices are only providing remote services. You should consult the King County Superior Court webpage for the most up to date information. https://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/superior-court.aspx

Talk to a lawyer, if you can

These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information Center. They are not intended to be a substitute for legal advice. They provide only legal *information*. It's a good idea to talk to a lawyer before you file any forms.

If you cannot afford a lawyer, you can:

You can obtain a list of low-cost and free legal resources.
https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/family/facilitator/family-law-resources.ashx?la=en

Get help from the Family Law Facilitators office. You can get information about their services at https://kingcounty.gov/courts/superior-court/family/facilitator.aspx

Step 1: Determine your response deadline

20 days	If you were served in person in Washington state.
60 days	If you were served in person outside of Washington state or by publication.
90 days	If you were served by mail.

Note: If you agree with everything the other party has requested in the petition, you may fill out the *Agreement to Join Petition (Joinder) (FL All Family 119)* form.

Step 2: Fill out these forms, then make a copy

All of these forms can be downloaded at: www.courts.wa.gov/forms/

Form Name	Form Number	Notes	Completed
Response to Petition for Parenting	El Derentero 222		
Plan, Residential schedule and/ or Child Support	FL Parentage 332		

How many copies do I need?

- Original set to file with Clerk's office.
- Copy 1 is to serve the other party
- Copy 2 you will keep for your records

Fill out these forms after the other parent is served (see Step 4), make a copy and file them.

Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery	FL All Family 112	See Step 4	

Step 3: Take your original forms to the Clerk's Office and file

You can file your paperwork by either bringing your original forms to the Clerk's Office (room 2C in Kent and E-609 in Seattle),

<u>OR</u>

You can file your paperwork online on the Clerk's website at: https://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/documents/efiling.aspx. If you have questions about e-filing call 206-477-3000, or email eServices@kingcounty.gov.

Step 4: Have the other party served

You may deliver or mail the documents yourself (provided that no order restrains you from having contact). If the other party has an attorney, deliver or mail the forms to the attorney instead. After you have delivered the forms to the other party or attorney, fill out the *Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery* form. File the original with the Clerk's Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring it with you to the hearing.

You may also have someone else serve the other party or his/her attorney for you. The server must be over 18. After serving, the server fills out a *Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery* form and returns it to you. File the original with the Clerk's Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring it with you to the hearing.

You have now responded to the Petition and must take the following additional steps.

Step 6: Follow your Case Schedule

If you do not have a copy of your case schedule, you may get it from the Clerk's office. You may also view your case file online <u>here</u>. The case schedule contains deadlines each party must follow.

If you and the other party <u>do</u> come to an agreement: You can finalize your case by presenting final orders (Step 7) in the Ex Parte department *Via the Clerk*. For instructions on finalizing your agreed Petition for Child Support, please visit the Ex Parte website at:

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/documents/ExParte.aspx

You may have to pay a document processing/review fee for this service.

If you and the other party cannot come to an agreement about your case you will have a trial before a Judge. Make sure that both your email and mailing address are up-to-date so that the court can contact you. Instructions on preparing for trial are available at the Facilitator's office.

Informal Family Law Trial (IFLT):

Requirements to select an IFLT. All parties must state whether they wish to proceed with an IFLT or a traditional trial. All parties must agree in order to proceed with an IFLT. Each party shall make its selection in writing using the Family Law Trial Selection Form. The Family Law Trial Selection form must be filed prior to the trial commencing. For cases in which there is a pretrial conference hearing, the selection shall be made at that hearing. If there is no pretrial conference hearing, the selection shall be made in the Joint Confirmation of Trial Readiness form. If a party does not file a selection using either form prior to the trial commencing, the case will proceed as a traditional trial. For more information on IFLT see LFLR 23

Step 7: Complete your final documents

To finalize your case by agreement or trial, you will need to fill out the forms below.

Note: If you have ever received public assistance on behalf of the minor children you must contact the King County Prosecuting Attorney's Family Support Section as early in your case as possible. They must sign off on the Child Support Order before you can finalize your case.

All of these forms can be downloaded at: www.courts.wa.gov/forms/

Final Order and Findings for a Parenting Plan, Residential Schedule and/or Child Support	FL Parentage 333		
Child Support Order	FL All Family 130		
Child Support Worksheets	WSCSS- Worksheets		
Child Support Schedule & Instructions	Use this information to calculate Child Support Worksheets. Online Child Support Calculation software is available at https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home		

You will need these forms if you are going to trial

Financial Declaration	FL All Family 131		
Sealed Financial Source Documents (Coversheet)	FL All Family 011	This form goes on the front of the financial documents you file	

If your case involves financial matters you may have to provide copies of financial documents, including:

- Your W-2s and complete personal tax returns for the past 2 years
- Your most recent pay stubs (at least 6 months)
- Complete partnership/corporate tax returns for the past 2 years if you have a 5% interest or more
- Statements from all of your banks and financial institutions for the past 6 months
- Note: The other party can ask you for a copy of your check register. If this happens, you will have 14 days to provide it.