Skip to main content
King County logo


Metropolitan King County
Council News

Upthegrove to serve on Sound Transit Board


Council’s newest member to continue representing South County’s interest on board


The Metropolitan King County Council today gave its unanimous approval to the appointment of Councilmember Dave Upthegrove to the Sound Transit Board of Directors.

“Transportation issues were one of my top priorities in the legislature and I look forward to continuing to represent South King County’s interest on the Sound Transit Board,” Upthegrove said.

Sound Transit is governed by an 18-member Board made up of local elected officials and the Secretary of the Washington State Department of Transportation. Board members serve four-year terms and provide policy direction and oversight to Sound Transit. Upthegrove was appointed by King County Executive Dow Constantine and will continue the work of former Councilmember Julia Patterson on the Board.

“The board’s collective knowledge and experience is tremendous,” Upthegrove said. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure regional transit services meet our residents’ needs and are delivered sustainably.”

Contact the Council
Main phone: