Skip to main content
King County logo


King County Executive
Dow Constantine

King County Civil Rights Commission seeks new members


Residents interested in raising community awareness and involvement in civil rights issues are invited to apply for one of four open positions on the King County Civil Rights Commission.


King County residents interested in public service and raising community awareness and involvement in civil rights issues are invited to apply for one of four open positions on the King County Civil Rights Commission. If selected and confirmed by the King County Council, commissioners serve three-year terms.

The Civil Rights Commission advises the County Executive and County Council on matters related to the county's civil rights programs and other civil rights issues. This includes reviewing and reporting on the effectiveness and progress of the county's affirmative action program, non-discrimination enforcement, and minority/women business utilization programs. In addition, the commission works to educate and engage the community about the county's Equity and Social Justice programs.

The Civil Rights Commission is soliciting applications from individuals in the following County Council Districts:

  • Council District 2, represented by Councilmember Larry Gossett, which covers the Seattle neighborhoods of Beacon Hill, Capitol Hill, Central Area, part of Fremont, Laurelhurst, Rainier Valley, Ravenna, Seward Park, Skyway, and the University District.
  • Council District 3, represented by Councilmember Kathy Lambert, which includes the communities of Carnation, Duvall, Fall City, Issaquah, North Bend, Preston, Redmond, Sammamish, Skykomish, Snoqualmie, rural Woodinville, and unincorporated northeast King County.
  • Council District 4, represented by Council Chair Larry Phillips, which covers the Seattle neighborhoods of Ballard, Belltown, Bitter Lake, Broadview, Crown Hill, part of Fremont, Green Lake, Greenwood, Interbay, Magnolia, North Beach, the western portion of Northgate, Phinney Ridge, Queen Anne, South Lake Union, Uptown, and Wallingford.
  • Council District 7, represented by Councilmember Pete von Reichbauer, which includes the communities of Algona, Auburn, Federal Way, Kent, Milton, Pacific, and parts of unincorporated south King County.

An interactive map of County Council districts is available online at

Commission members must live in King County. If confirmed by the County Council, commissioners serve without pay. Residents from diverse ethnic and protected group backgrounds, including people with disabilities, are encouraged to apply. All commission members are bound by the King County Code of Ethics and are required to complete a financial disclosure statement upon appointment and by April 15 of each succeeding year of service.

Potential candidates should have interests and experience related to the goals of the commission, live in the appropriate County Council district, and be able to commit eight to ten hours monthly to commission meetings and work projects. This includes attending monthly meetings on the third Wednesday of each month from 3 - 5 p.m., and participating in committee work, which can require additional meetings. Current commission projects include affirmative action/equal employment opportunities, county contracting, equity and social justice, community engagement, and the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Essay Contest. 

For more information on the Civil Rights Commission and its activities, please visit or contact commission administrator Paula Harris-White at 206-263-2444 or

King County Executive
Dow Constantine
Dow constantine portrait

Read the Executive's biography