Skip to main content

Advanced Life Support (ALS) medical services

There are 5 Advanced Life Support agencies that serve the city of Seattle and King County with seamless paramedic service. Although administrated through different agencies, all are a part of the Medic One System and will respond county-wide as the need arises. Generally, the agencies serve the areas outlined below:

The 5 Advanced Life Support agencies

  • Bellevue Fire Medic One

    Serves the City of Bellevue as well as the Clyde Hill, Issaquah, Medina, Mercer Island, North Bend, Sammamish, and Snoqualmie areas.

  • King County Medic One

    Serves the Algona, Auburn, Black Diamond, Burien, Covington, Des Moines, Enumclaw, Federal Way, Kent, Maple Valley, Normandy Park, Pacific, Renton, Seatac, Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, Skyway, Tukwila, Vashon Island, and White Center areas.

  • Northeast King County Medic One

    Serves the Carnation, Duvall, Kirkland, Redmond, and Woodinville areas.

  • Seattle Fire Medic One

    Serves the City of Seattle.

  • Shoreline Fire Medic One

    Serves the City of Shoreline as well as the Bothell, Kenmore, and Lake Forest Park areas.

Medic One paramedics

Medic One paramedics are graduates of the University of Washington / Harborview Medical Center paramedic training program. This intensive 2,500 hour program is recognized as one of the best in the world. This program is operated under the direction of Dr. Michael Sayre, Medical Program Director for Seattle Fire Medic One. Paramedic trainees receive training including, but not limited to:

  • Cardiology
  • Pharmacology
  • General acute medicine
  • Advanced airway and respiratory therapies
  • Trauma including burns, orthopedic injuries, triage and extrication, and fluid resuscitation

Trainees acquire knowledge and skill through clinical rotations in local hospitals, primarily Harborview Medical Center, and while riding on Seattle Fire Department Medic Units under the direct supervision of Senior Seattle Paramedics.

Upon graduation, paramedics must complete continuing education classes and be recertified every year with King County and every 3 years with the State of Washington.