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DECEMBER  2007

Property Tax Deferral
WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

for Homeowners with Limited Income

If you are a homeowner with limited income, Washington has a program that may help you pay your 
property taxes and/or special assessments beginning in 2008. 

Under this deferral program, the Department of Revenue pays 50 percent of your property taxes and/or 
special assessments on your behalf.  The program is not an exemption or a grant.  Deferred taxes are taxes 
that have been postponed.  When you no longer own and use the property as your personal residence, you 
must repay the deferred tax.  The deferred amount, plus interest, becomes a lien in favor of the state until 
the total amount is repaid.

Program Requirements
To be eligible for this program, you must meet the ownership, residency, income, and equity requirements.  
In addition, your first property tax installment for the year must already be paid.

OWNERSHIP AND RESIDENCY
You must have owned your home for more than 
five years before you can apply for a deferral, and 
the home must be your primary residence when 
you apply for a deferral.  You must have been living 
in the home as of January 1 of the application year, 
and you must live there for more than six months 
during that year and every subsequent year.  
Your residence may qualify even if you are in a 
hospital, nursing home, boarding home or adult 
family home.  Even though you currently reside 
in one of these facilities, you can still meet the 
residency requirement if your home is temporarily 
unoccupied, occupied by your spouse or by 
someone else who is financially dependent on you, 
or if your home is rented to help pay for the cost of 
your stay in the facility.
Deferred taxes must be repaid if the home ceases  
to be your primary residence.  

INCOME LIMIT
Your annual household disposable income for the 
previous year must be $57,000 or less.  Household 
income includes your disposable income as well 
as the disposable income of your spouse and any 
co-tenants.  A co-tenant is a person who lives in 
the home and has an ownership interest in the 
home.  Disposable income is defined in statute and 
is not the same as your taxable income used for 
federal income tax purposes.  For more information 
on calculating your income, see “Calculating Your 
Disposable Income" on page 3.

EQUITY
Do you have sufficient equity in your home?  Equity 
is the difference between the assessed value of the 
property and any debts secured by the property.  
Debts include mortgages, lines of credit, special 
assessments, and any other liens against the 
property.  The taxes deferred cannot exceed  
40 percent of your equity.   
Following is an example of the equity calculation:

	 Equity  
Land assessed value	 $100,000
Dwelling assessed value	 $150,000
Total assessed value  
included in calculation	 $250,000

Mortgage balance	 $150,000
Equity value for deferral program	 $100,000

40 percent of equity value  
– maximum deferral	 $40,000

You must carry fire and casualty insurance, and the 
State of Washington Department of Revenue must 
be listed as a “Loss Payee” on your policy. Provide 
a copy of the summary declaration for your policy 
when you submit your application.
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How much of my property tax can  
be deferred?
If you meet the qualifications, you can defer  
50 percent of your taxes and/or special 
assessments. The first half of your taxes, due April 
30, must be paid before applying for the deferral 
on your second installment due October 31.
  

What is the interest rate?
The rate of interest for the deferral is based  
on an average of the federal short-term rate, plus  
2 percent.  For deferrals made in 2008 under this 
program, the interest rate will be 7 percent.  This 
rate will apply to the 2008 deferral until that 
deferral is paid in full.  Any change in the interest 
rate in 2009 will not affect deferrals made  
in 2008.

How can I apply for the deferral?
Your county assessor administers this program 
and is responsible for determining whether you 
meet the qualifications. Application forms will 
be available after April 30, 2008. You can then 
request a form from your county assessor, or 
visit our web site at http://dor.wa.gov. Submit 
your application for the deferral after you have 
paid the first half of your property tax. As long 
as you qualify for the program, you can continue 
to defer your tax by submitting a renewal 
application each year.

What can I do if my deferral request is denied?
If your request for deferral is denied, the county 
assessor will notify you in writing.  The written 
notice will include the reason for the denial.  You 
may appeal the assessor’s decision to the county 
Board of Equalization. 

When does the deferral have to be repaid?
At any time, you may choose to pay any or all of 
your deferral balance. However, you must repay 
the deferred taxes and/or special assessments 
and accrued interest if any of the following 
circumstances occur:

Your property is transferred or conveyed  77
to someone else.
Upon your death, unless your surviving 77
spouse meets the qualifications and elects  
to continue in the program.
You no longer permanently reside at the 77
residence.
Your property is condemned.77
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Calculating your 
disposable income 
The disposable income you receive during the 
year before your application year determines 
your eligibility. You must use your 2007 income 
to qualify for this deferral in 2008. If there was a 
change in your income prior to November 1 and 
the change is expected to last indefinitely, you 
may estimate annual income by multiplying your 
new average monthly income by 12.
Disposable income is defined in statute (RCW 
84.36.383) and includes income from all sources, 
whether or not the income is taxable for 
federal income tax purposes. You must include 
nontaxable income such as disability and social 
security, and you may not deduct losses and 
depreciation. Some of the most common sources 
of income include:

Wages, salaries, and tips.77

Social Security benefits.77

Railroad retirement benefits.77

Pension and annuity receipts.  For purposes of 77
this program, “annuity” is defined as a series of 
payments under a contract.  Some examples 
of annuity payments include proceeds from 
life insurance contracts, unemployment 
compensation, disability payments, and 
welfare receipts (excluding amounts received 
for the care of dependent children).
Interest and dividend receipts.77

Business and rental income.  You may 77
deduct business and rental expenses, but 
depreciation and business or rental losses may 
not be deducted.
Capital gains.  Capital losses may not be 77
deducted from income or used to offset 
capital gains.

You may deduct non-reimbursed amounts paid 
for the following:

Amounts you pay for your spouse or yourself 77
to live in a nursing home, boarding home, or 
adult family home.
Insurance premiums for Medicare under Title 77
XVIII of the Social Security Act.
Amounts paid for prescription drugs for 77
yourself or your spouse.
Amounts you pay for goods and services that 77
allow you or your spouse to receive in-home  
care.  In-home care includes medical 
treatment, physical therapy, Meals on Wheels 
(or similar services), and household and 
personal care.  Personal care includes 
assistance with preparing meals, getting 
dressed, eating, taking medications, or 
personal hygiene.  Special furniture and 
equipment such as wheelchairs, hospitals 
beds, and oxygen also qualify.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION
For questions about the laws and rules 
governing this program or for questions about 
your account after you defer taxes (account 
balance, making a payment, reporting changes 
in your circumstances, etc.) contact the 
Department at (360) 570-5900.

If you need an application form or have 
questions about the application process, contact 
your local county assessor’s office.  You can find 
the number on your annual notice of assessed 
value or in the local county government pages 
of your telephone book.  

This material is intended for general information 
purposes and does not alter or supersede any 
administrative regulations or rulings issued by 
the Department of Revenue.

LAWS AND RULES
Substitute Senate Bill 6178
Chapter 2, Laws of 2007
To be codified as a new Chapter of Title 84
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
Chapter 458 Washington Administrative 
Code (WAC) is to be revised in 2008 to 
include this deferral program.


