Skip to main content

Geographical definitions

Geographical definitions

Community health indicators

NOTICE: There are two embedded maps on this page which may take a few moments to load
See technical notes for geography and poverty definitions


Regions and Health Reporting Areas (HRA) were created to examine geographic patterns below the county level. Four regions—South, Seattle, East and North—are defined either by combined postal ZIP codes or by city-based Health Reporting Areas (below). The city-based boundaries are used whenever possible; ZIP code-based boundaries are used when data are only available by ZIP code (examples include hospitalization data or data from some surveys).

Some slight discrepancies occur in what areas are covered between the HRA and ZIP code based Regions (contact us at for a map), with the major differences in the North and Seattle Regions. Two ZIP codes (98177, 98133) span the Seattle—North Region boundary and are included as part of the North Region ZIP-based area. However, the HRA boundary has a clean delineation between Seattle and North Regions. Along the East-South Region boundary, two ZIP codes (98056, 98059) overlap both Regions. 98056 is assigned to South and 98059 is assigned to East.

North Region includes the areas of Bothell, Cottage Lake, Kenmore, Lake Forest Park, Shoreline, and Woodinville. East Region includes Bellevue, Carnation, Duvall, Issaquah, Kirkland, Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, North Bend, Redmond, Sammamish, and Skykomish. South region contains Auburn, Burien, Covington, Des Moines, Enumclaw, Federal Way, Kent, Maple Valley, Normandy Park, Renton, Tukwila, SeaTac, White Center/Boulevard Park, and Vashon Island.

View larger map

Health Reporting Areas

61 Health Reporting Areas (HRAs) were created based on Census 2020 population counts and geographies for reporting health metrics for King County. Where possible, neighborhoods are defined within large cities, and unincorporated areas of King County are delineated. For confidentiality and data reliability, some areas were combined. HRAs are used whenever we have sufficient sample size to present the data. A map of city-based Health Reporting Areas.

Below is a list of HRAs. Neighborhood-level HRA are grouped under the city of which they are a part:

  • Auburn
    • Auburn - North
    • Auburn - South
  • Bear Creek and Greater Sammamish
  • Bellevue
    • Bellevue - Central
    • Bellevue - Northeast
    • Bellevue - South
    • Bellevue - West
  • Bothell and Woodinville
  • Burien
  • Covington
  • Des Moines and Normandy Park
  • Duvall, Carnation, Skykomish, and Northeast King County
  • East Highlands, Hobart, and Greater Maple Valley
  • Enumclaw, Black Diamond, and Southeast King County
  • Fairwood
  • Federal Way
    • Federal Way - Central
    • Federal Way - Dash Point and Southern Rim
    • Federal Way - North Corridor
  • Issaquah
  • Kenmore and Lake Forest Park
  • Kent
    • Kent - Central
    • Kent - East
    • Kent - South
    • Kent - West
  • Kirkland
    • Kirkland - North
    • Kirkland - South
  • Lakeland, Algona, Pacific, and Milton
  • Maple Valley
  • Mercer Island and Point Cities
  • Newcastle and Four Creeks
  • North Highline and White Center
  • Redmond
    • Redmond - North
    • Redmond - South
  • Renton
    • Renton - North
    • Renton - South
  • Sammamish
  • Seattle
    • Seattle - Ballard
    • Seattle - Broadview, Haller Lake, and Licton Springs
    • Seattle - Capitol Hill
    • Seattle - Central District, Chinatown-International District, Judkins, and North Beacon Hill
    • Seattle - Delridge
    • Seattle - Downtown, Belltown, and First Hill
    • Seattle - Green Lake and Phinney Ridge
    • Seattle - Laurelhurst, Sand Point, and Wedgwood
    • Seattle - Magnolia and Interbay
    • Seattle - Montlake, Madison Park, and Madrona
    • Seattle - Northgate and Lake City
    • Seattle - Queen Anne
    • Seattle - Rainier Valley and Rainier Beach
    • Seattle - Ravenna and Bryant
    • Seattle - South Beacon Hill, Georgetown, and South Park
    • Seattle - South Lake Union, Cascade, and Eastlake
    • Seattle - University District
    • Seattle - West Seattle
  • Shoreline
  • Skyway
  • Snoqualmie and North Bend
  • Tukwila
  • Vashon