Skip to main content

Evictions (writs of restitution)

Evictions (writs of restitution)

Due to unit staffing shortages coupled with the hazardous nature of the orders we're receiving, we need approximately 90 days to serve and enforce the writ. Extension language in the writ or an order allowing us additional time, will be necessary. Writs returnable to court within 10 or 20 days of issuance, will likely not be enforced.

Page 3 of the DATA form must be signed by the owner, landlord or property manager only at the time of the physical eviction!


An eviction (Writ of Restitution) involves a tenant being ordered by the court to leave a residence. The court follows the tenant-landlord act of the State of Washington. More information about these laws can be found at the Revised Code of Washington RCW 59.12, RCW 59.18, and RCW 59.20.  

After obtaining a court order to evict a tenant, a landlord wishing to pursue an eviction should fill out the Eviction Data Form, Adobe required (alternate version) before contacting the Civil Unit for processing. Additionally, please provide our office with all items listed on the Writ of Restitution Intake Sheet. Detectives will serve the tenant or post a residence with a writ of restitution or court order. If the tenant has not moved by the date on the writ of restitution or court order, the detectives will assist the landlord in evicting the tenant. The detective's assistance will include enforcing the court order and ensuring the peace. The landlord is responsible for providing the moving crew and all other needed items. Landlords are encouraged to contact the detective prior to the physical eviction. There are some exceptions which can be found under the RCW links above. Additional information can be found in the Procedures for Writs of Restitution.

If you:



After obtaining a court order to evict a tenant, a landlord wishing to pursue an eviction should fill out

Eviction Data Form


Additionally, please provide our office with all items listed 

Writ of Restitution Intake Sheet

Órdenes judiciales de restitución

Additional information

Procedures for Writs of Restitution



Additional resources are available at:

Related Information

Washington Administrative Code
Revised Code of Washington
King County Superior Court 
Landlord/Tenant Act

Fees charged

ALERTMileage rate increase for 2024

Click on this link for fees effective February 20, 2024. Updated fees for restitutions in Seattle metro and elsewhere in King County found by clicking here.

Fees are payable in advance. Acceptable methods of payment are cash, check, or money order. No 2nd party checks are accepted. Check or money order should be made payable to "King County Sheriff." 

Effective July 3, 2023, ACH (eChecks) and Debit/Credit cards will be accepted ONLY at the King County Courthouse (516 Third Ave, Seattle) Location. 

  • Fee for ACH (eCheck) payments - flat fee $1.00 per eCheck processed
  • Fee for Credit/Debit cards - 2.35% of the total due, with a minimum fee charge of $2.00


Contact or visit us at :

Civil Process Unit
King County Courthouse
516 Third Avenue, Room W-150
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: (206) 263-2600
Closed weekends and holidays.

Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm. In-person assistance available 10:00am to 2:00pm.