Skip to main content

Eastside - Transportation Boards - About Metro

Eastside Transportation Partnership

Mission: To provide an Eastside forum for inter-jurisdictional cooperation to implement coordinated, prioritized transportation plans and programs through leadership, education, and advocacy.

2023 Chair and Vice Chair:

  • Chair: Kenmore Mayor Nigel Herbig
  • Vice-Chair: Issaquah Councilmember Barbara de Michele

The Eastside Transportation Partnership (ETP) was established through an Interlocal Agreement in 1987, which provided funds for a study that resulted in recommendations for transportation improvements on the Eastside. That study was completed, recommendations were adopted, and staffing responsibility was transferred in 1990 from the City of Redmond to King County. Efforts have continued to implement the recommended projects, and many of which have been completed or are currently underway.

By 1995, because of increases in jobs, population, and vehicle miles traveled, declining transportation revenues, and new legislation, including the Growth Management Act and Commute Trip Reduction Act, the ETP determined that the 1991 recommendations needed to be updated. In 1995 the group was awarded a federal grant of Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act funds. This was supplemented by matching contributions from ETP member jurisdictions, a new Interlocal Agreement was approved, and a consultant was hired in January 1997 to complete the update. This was completed and adopted in 1998. Since that time, ETP has focused its attention on regional coordination and advocacy for ETP priorities.

To achieve its mission, ETP adopted the following goals on January 26, 1996:

  1. Develop and adopt a package of transportation priorities based on adopted land use plans that improves overall mobility for people, freight and goods, and addressing peak hour congestion on the Eastside.
  2. Jointly implement adopted priorities through leadership, education, and advocacy within communities, cities and the region.
  3. Adopt and implement a strategy for increasing funding for transportation improvements and programs.

In recent years, ETP has focused its efforts on regional coordination and advocacy.


Members (2022)

Snoqualmie Valley Cities


Non-voting members

  • Community Transit – Brian Doennebrink
  • Port of Seattle – Geri Poor
  • Puget Sound Regional Council – Kelly McGourty
  • Puget Sound Regional Council – Ben Bakkenta (Alt)
  • Sound Transit – Councilmember David Baker
  • Sound Transit – Luke Lamon
  • Washington State Department of Transportation – April Delchamps
  • Washington State Department of Transportation – Azim Sheikh-Taheri (Alt)

Time and location

7:30 - 9:00 a.m.
Second Friday of the Month
Virtual until further notice
Join Zoom meeting  


Contact us

Stephanie Pure 
King County Metro Transit
Government Relations

Translation disclaimer