Skip to main content

Metropolitan King County Council

The Metropolitan King County Council oversees the second largest government and the most populous county in Washington State. With more than 2.3 million residents, King County is the 12th largest county in the U.S. As the legislative branch of county government, the Council sets policies, enacts laws, and adopts budgets that guide an array of services for county residents. The Council's nine councilmembers are elected on a non-partisan basis and serve four-year terms. Each councilmember represents a geographical district of over 260,000 residents. Read more.



Back row: Claudia Balducci District 6, Jorge L. Barón District 4, Sarah Perry District 3, Rod Dembowski District 1, Teresa Mosqueda District 8, Peter von Reichbauer District 7.  Front row: Council Vice Chair Reagan Dunn District 9, Council Chair Dave Upthegrove District 5, Council Vice Chair Girmay Zahilay District 2.

Comprehensive Plan

Learn more about the Council's 2024 King County Comprehensive Plan review process.

General public comment at Council meetings

The King County Council values community input and looks forward to hearing from you. Public comments are restricted to items on the current meeting agenda, except on the fourth Tuesday of the month, when you may comment on any matter related to King County government. You are not required to sign up in advance.

King County budget review

This fall, the Council will review the County Executive’s proposed budget for 2025 and adopt a balanced budget in November. The Council welcomes public comment on the budget and will publicize dates of community meetings closer to that time.

Featured news