## **PROCLAMATION**

WHEREAS, Jewish people are an important part of King County's fabric, contributing to our community in countless ways; and

WHEREAS, 47 Jewish organizations of every size, mission, and denomination in King County have developed and adopted the Puget Sound Jewish Community Statement on Antisemitism to build a greater understanding and awareness of antisemitism and to stand unified against hate; and

WHEREAS, according to the Anti-Defamation League, in 2018, reports of antisemitic incidents were up 60% in Washington State from the previous year, and reports of hate crimes and incidents were up nearly 400% in Seattle from 2012 to 2018; and

WHEREAS, in September 2022, the King County Council voted to create the Stop Hate Hotline, expanding the community-based system, so that such crimes can be reported through an online portal or via phone; and

WHEREAS, crimes motivated by hate and bias frequently go unreported, and any victims of antisemitism in King County are encouraged to report any crimes against them, so that King County can track and respond to them; and

WHEREAS, the full extent of hate crimes targeting Jews in the United States remains unknown due to multiple major cities failing to participate in FBI Hate Crimes report of 2021, significantly hindering our ability to respond to rising antisemitism; and

WHEREAS, King County's nationally recognized and historically significant commitment to Equity and Social Justice (ESJ) works in partnership with King County Council's Equity & Social Justice Office to achieve racial equity and social justice to ensure that all employees and residents in King County have the opportunity to thrive;

NOW, THEREFORE, we, the undersigned members of the Metropolitan King County Council, proclaim our condemnation of

## ANTISEMITISM

as allies of our Jewish community. We stand against hate and bias in all forms and urge all residents to support our Jewish neighbors.

DATED this thirty-first day of January, 2023.

Dave Upthegrove, District Five, Council Chair

Rod Dembowski, District One

Sarah Perry, District Three

Claudia Balducci, District Six

Joe McDermott, District Eight

Girmay Zahilay, District Two Deanne Kohl-Welles

Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District Four, Council Vice-Chair

Pete von Reichbauer. District Seven

Reagan Dunn, District Nine, Council Vice-Chair