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KING COUNTY SMALL CLAIM 
INFORMATION FOR THE PARTIES  


AUGUST 2019 
 


 


 


Disclaimer 
 
This brochure is intended to be a general statement of small claims procedure.  For more 
detailed information, please consult applicable provisions of the Revised Code of Washington 
(RCW) Chapters 3.66, 4.16, 4.28, 12.40, 59.18, and applicable provisions in the Civil Rules for 
Courts of Limited Jurisdiction, Rule 5 (CRLJ 5).  RCWs and court rules can be found at libraries 
and the following websites:  www.leg.wa.gov (for RCWs) and www.courts.wa.gov (for court 
rules). Court contact information can be found at www.courts.wa.gov.  Small claim forms are 
located on the King County District Court website:  http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/district-
court/small-claims.aspx 
 
Who Can Sue And Be Sued? 
 
Any human being may bring a small claims suit for recovery of money only for an amount up to 
$10,000.  Any business, partnership, or corporation (with a couple of exceptions) may bring a 
small claims suit for recovery of money only for an amount up to $5,000.  Only the person who 
is owed the money can file the small claim case. You cannot assign a small claim to someone to 
file in the court.  In general, the claim must be filed in the district court of the county in which 
the defendant(s) reside.  Exceptions and specific rules can be found at RCW 3.66.040.  The state 
of Washington may not be sued in Small Claims Court.  Attorneys and paralegals are excluded 
from appearing or participating with the plaintiff or defendant in a small claims suit unless the 
judge grants permission. 
 
How Much Does It Cost? 
 
You must pay the court clerk a filing fee at the time the suit is filed.  The filing fee for King 
County District Court is $50. You may have some additional fees payable to the sheriff or 
process server to have the Notice of Small Claim served on the defendant.  Alternatively, you 
may serve notice on the defendant by registered or certified mail, return receipt mailing, which 



http://www.courts.wa.gov/

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/district-court/small-claims.aspx

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/district-court/small-claims.aspx





Small Claim Brochure Page 2 of 6 
KCDC August 2019 


contains the signature of the party served. If you win your case, you are entitled to recover the 
filing fee and the cost of service as allowed by statute.  If you want to file your small claim with 
the court by mail, review the court’s website.   


How Long Do I Have To File My Case? 


Time limits range from one (1) to ten (10) years.  See Chapter 4.16 RCW to determine which 
time limit applies to your type of case. 


How Do I Get Started? 


First you will prepare a Notice of Small Claim form. You can obtain the form in person at any 
King County courthouse or you can download one from the King County District Court web site 
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/DistrictCourt/civil-
forms/Notice_of_Small_Claim.ashx?la=en (here).   It is your (the plaintiff) responsibility to 
accurately identify the defendant(s), provide a proper address and, if possible, a phone number. 


After you complete the Notice of Small Claim form, you must sign the form under penalty of 
perjury.  The clerk will enter the court date, time, and location on the form.  


The clerk will prepare a packet for you and a separate packet for each of the defendants.  You 
must serve each defendant with the following three documents: (1) your written Notice of 
Small Claim; (2) a copy of the materials from the Dispute Resolution Center (DRC), and (3) the 
Notice to Service Members and their Dependents.  


Serving the Notice of Small Claim 


The clerk will assist you with forms and general information about the process.  The clerk is not 
allowed to give legal advice.  Service of the Notice of Small Claim form can be accomplished by 
any of the following: 


1. The Sheriff's Office:    (206) 263-2600      Civil.KCSO@kingcounty.gov


2. A process server;


3. Any person of legal age (18) who is not connected with the case either as a witness or as a 
party; or


4. By mailing the copies to the defendant by registered or certified mail with a return receipt 
(e-delivery/green card) requested.



http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/courts/DistrictCourt/civil-forms/Notice_of_Small_Claim.ashx?la=en
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The Notice of Small Claim must be served promptly after filing the claim. Service must be 
complete at least ten (10) days before the first hearing for all cases except those involving out 
of state landlords.  A return of service, or mail return receipt bearing the defendant's signature, 
must be filed at or before the time of the first hearing.  


You cannot personally serve the claim.  See RCW Chapters 4.28 and 12.40, 59.18, and CRLJ 5 for 
more detailed information. 


When will the case be heard?  


Cases are generally heard between 40 and 90 days from the date of filing. You will be given a 
date and time to appear for your hearing. There will be other small claims hearings scheduled 
for the same date and time as yours. 


Mediation  


In many cases, neither party is one hundred percent right or wrong.  Therefore, you are 
encouraged to try to settle your case before trial by participating in mediation. The King County 
District Court works in partnership with the Dispute Resolution Center of King County (DRC) to 
make professional mediation service available to you at no additional cost. The Dispute 
Resolution Center is an independent non-profit organization. It is not part of the Court.  Please 
read the DRC informational handout for more information about mediation. 


What If We Settle? 


If you settle the dispute before the hearing date, and the settlement is paid, you (the plaintiff) 
must inform the Court in writing so the hearing can be canceled and your case dismissed.  If the 
other party agrees to pay at a later date, you may ask the Court for a continuance.  If the other 
party pays before the postponed date, ask the Court to cancel the hearing and to dismiss your 
case.  If you do not receive your money by the time of the continued hearing, proceed with the 
case in court.  If you drop the suit, your filing fee and service costs are not returned. 


Preparing For the Pre-trial Hearing  


In some courthouse locations, your case will initially be set for a pre-trial hearing. All parties are 
required to appear at the pre-trial hearing unless otherwise instructed by the Court.  Bring 
written proof of service of the Notice of Small Claim to the pre-trial hearing and 2 (two) copies 
of any evidence supporting the party’s claim or defense.  You will be asked to provide one of 
those copies to the opposing party.  For example: statements, receipts, invoices, photographs, 
electronic files.   
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These documents help the other party understand your position and concerns, and allow the 
parties to make informed decisions, knowing the evidence that will be presented at a trial. 


The trial will not occur on the pre-trial hearing date. Witnesses are not needed for the pre-trial 
hearing. The District Court requires all small claim parties to participate in a mediation session, 
prior to a case being set for trial.  If the parties cannot resolve the dispute through mediation, 
the Court will set a trial date. 


If the parties do reach an agreement, the mediator will write down the details of the parties’ 
agreement in their own words. Both parties will sign the agreement and receive copies.  The 
parties will ask the Court to dismiss the case. 


If the other party does not appear at the pre-trial hearing, the judge will review the case to 
determine whether there was proper service. If service was proper the judge may hear 
evidence and enter a judgment against the person who did not appear, dismiss the case, or 
continue the case to another date.  


Preparing For the Trial 


You can help yourself by being well prepared.  To prepare for the trial, collect all papers, 
photographs, receipts, estimates, canceled checks, or other documents relevant to your case.  
To be considered, your evidence must be admitted and is kept by the Court until the case is 
finally resolved.  If your case has not gone through pre-trial mediation, bring the original and 2 
(two) copies of any evidence supporting the party’s claim or defense to the trial.  If you’ve 
already provided your evidence to the opposing party at the pre-trial mediation, bring the 
original and 1 (one) copy for the Court. You may bring witnesses with you to the trial.  


Be prepared to make a clear and concise presentation of your story to the judge. Time is often 
limited in small claims trials. It is also a good idea to sit through a small claims court session 
before the date of your hearing.  This will give you first-hand information about the way small 
claim cases are heard. 


What Happens At The Trial? 


When you arrive at the courthouse, report to the courtroom where your case is assigned.  
When your case is called by the judge, come forward to the counsel table.  Before and party or 
witness presents testimony, the judge will place that person under oath to tell the truth. 
 
Try not to be nervous—remember a trial in small claims court is informal.  The judge will ask the 
plaintiff to give his or her side first, then will ask the defendant for his or her explanation. You 
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will have a limited time to present your side of the case.  Be brief and stick to the facts.  The 
judge may interrupt you with questions, which you should answer truthfully and to the best of 
your knowledge. Be polite to the judge, your opponent, and court staff.  Follow the judge’s 
instruction, do not interrupt your opponent or the judge, and try to be patient. 


After both sides have been heard by the judge, he or she will normally immediately announce 
the decision, prepare and sign a judgment.  All parties receive a copy of the judgment.  


What If My Opponent Does Not Appear For Trial? 


If the plaintiff appears and the defendant fails to appear for trial, the plaintiff will be granted 
judgment for the amount of the claim proven in court, plus allowable costs—provided the 
plaintiff can show proof of service.  If the plaintiff fails to appear, the claim is dismissed.   In 
some instances, the Court may permit the plaintiff to start over if good cause is shown for the 
plaintiff’s non-appearance. 


How Do I Collect My Money Judgment? 


A money judgment in your favor does not necessarily mean that the money will be paid.  The 
Court does not collect the judgment for you.  If no appeal is taken and the judgment is not paid 
within 30 days, the case is transferred to the civil docket and you may proceed with a method 
of collection such as garnishment of wages, bank accounts, and other monies of the defendant 
or an execution may be issued on cars, boats, or other personal property of the judgment 
debtor.  Remember, the clerks cannot give you legal advice.  You may need the assistance of an 
attorney or collection agency at this point.   


If you wish to record the District Court civil judgment with a Superior Court, you may file with 
Superior Court the certified judgment previously provided to you by the Court Clerk at the time 
of judgment.  (If you need additional copies of the certified judgment, there will be additional 
court fees.)  Other fees may be required by the Superior Court clerk or county auditor.  Filing a 
copy of the judgment with the Superior Court places a lien against all real property in the name 
of the judgment debtor that is located in that county. 


When the judgment has been paid in full you must send written notice to the District Court that 
the judgment has been satisfied.  If the judgment was filed in Superior Court, you must send 
written notice to the Superior Court that the judgment has been satisfied.  
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Can You Appeal A Case If You Lose? 


The party who files a claim or counterclaim cannot appeal unless the amount claimed exceeds 
$1,000.  No party may appeal a judgment where the amount claimed in less than $250.  If an 
appeal is taken to the superior court, the appealing party is required to follow the procedures 
set out in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 12.36 and applicable rules of appeals.  The 
following steps must be taken within 30 days of the entry of the judgment: 


1. Prepare a written Notice of Appeal and file it with the district court. 
2.  Serve a copy of that Notice on the other parties and file acknowledgement or affidavit 


of service in district court. 
3. Deposit at the district court the $230 Superior Court filing fee by money order, or 


cashier’s check payable to the Clerk of the Superior Court and pay a $40 appeal 
preparation processing fees to the district court. 


4. Post a bond in a sum equal to twice the amount of the judgment and costs, or twice the 
amount in controversy, whichever is greater, (case or surety) at the district court. 
 
When the appeal and bond are transferred to superior court, the appellant (person 
appealing the decision) may request that the Superior Court suspend enforcement of 
the judgment until after the appeal is heard. 
 
Within 14 days of the filing of the Notice of Appeal, the district court clerk will transmit 
the court record to the superior court clerk who will assign a new case number and 
notify the district court.  The district court clerk will advise the appellant of that number, 
and the appellant must then contact the superior court for further instructions. 
 
Disability Accommodations 
 
King County District Court will provide reasonable accommodations to people with 
disabilities upon request.  If you want to request an accommodation, please contact 
Patricia Kohler at:  patricia.kohler@kingcounty.gov or call 206-255-5068. 


 



mailto:patricia.kohler@kingcounty.gov
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SMALL CLAIMS INSTRUCTIONS TO PLAINTIFF 


 


Attached to this Small Claims Instructions sheet are the documents you are required to 
have served upon each defendant named in your small claim case:  


1.  Notice of Small Claim; 


2.  Notice to Service Members and their Dependents; 


3.  Dispute Resolution Information; and 


4.  King County District Court’s Small Claims Brochure. 


Also attached is a blank Declaration of Service form.   One copy of this form must be 
completed for each defendant named in your case as proof the named defendant was served 
with the Notice of Small Claim, along with the attachments referenced above. 


Please make as many copies of these documents as needed for service on each named 
defendant, and retain a copy for your records. 
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KING COUNTY DISTRICT COURT 
STATE OF WASHINGTON 


 


 
 , 
 Plaintiff(s), 
 v. 
 
 , 
 Defendant(s). 
 


 
No.   
 
 
DECLARATION OF SERVICE 


1. I am over the age of 18 years, competent to be a witness, and not a party to this action. 
 
2. On        (date) at     a.m./p.m. (time) at 
           (city and state of service), 
 I served           (name of party served) 


at             (address) 
 the following document(s): 


  Notice of Small Claim 
  Civil Summons and Complaint 
  Other:  . 
 
3. Service was made by delivery to        (name), 


  the party named above. 
  a person of suitable age and discretion residing at the party’s usual place of abode. 
  the       (person authorized by RCW 4.28.080) of the defendant. 
  
I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington the foregoing is true 
and correct. 
 


Dated:       , at ______________________________Washington. 
 (City/County) 
 
   
Fees: Service   Signature 
 Mileage     
 TOTAL   Printed Name 
   
 Title 





		undefined: 

		No: 

		undefined_2: 

		On: 

		date at: 

		city and state of service: 

		I served: 

		at: 

		Notice of Small Claim: Off

		Civil Summons and Complaint: Off

		Other: Off

		undefined_3: 

		Service was made by delivery to: 

		the party named above: Off

		a person of suitable age and discretion residing at the partys usual place of abode: Off

		the: Off

		person authorized by RCW 428080 of the defendant: 

		Dated: 

		at_2: 

		Service: 

		Mileage: 

		TOTAL: 

		Printed Name: 

		Title: 

		petdiv: [East Division, Bellevue Courthouse]
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 FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT SMALL CLAIM MEDIATION 
 
 
Q:  What happens at the District Court’s pretrial hearing? 
A:  Courts frequently find that many people who file a small claim case can solve the dispute through 
facilitated mediation.  On the date of the pretrial hearing, if the both parties in the case are present, they 
will be assigned a trained mediator and required to participate in mediation.  The mediator will assist the 
parties in having a conversation to see if the parties can come to an agreement that works for both sides. 
There is no additional fee for these mediation services because the case was filed in the District Court’s 
small claims department.     


If you are unable to reach an agreement through mediation, the case will be returned to courtroom for a 
pretrial hearing. After confirming the parties are ready for trial, the judge will schedule a trial on the 
Court’s calendar.  At trial, a judge will hear the evidence from the parties and make a decision.  


If the other party is not present at the pretrial hearing, the judge will review the case to determine whether 
there was proper service. If service was proper the judge may hear evidence and enter a judgment against 
the person who did not appear, dismiss the case, or continue the case to another date.   
 
Q:  How does mediation work? 
A:  The mediation will take approximately an hour and will be held in a private room at the courthouse.  
A skilled and trained mediator will guide the parties through a process that gives the parties the chance to 
share information about the dispute, explain what is important to them, and suggest ways to resolve the 
dispute.  Although many parties settle their dispute through mediation, settlement is voluntary and the 
parties are not required to reach an agreement.  


If the parties do reach an agreement, the mediator will write down the details of the parties’ agreement in 
the parties’ own words. Both parties will sign the agreement and receive copies.  The parties will ask the 
court to dismiss the case.  


Q:  What happens if the parties do NOT reach an agreement through mediation at the pretrial 
conference? 


A:   If the parties do not come to an agreement there are two options:   


1. If the parties are working well together but just need more time to discuss an agreement, they can 
schedule a second mediation session at no additional cost to them, and the hearing date will be 
continued.   


2. If the parties want the judge to decide the case, the court will schedule a trial date where a judge 
will hear the evidence from both sides and make a decision.   
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Q:  What happens if the parties successfully reached an agreement but one party does not keep the 
agreement? 
A:  If the parties come to an agreement through mediation, the mediator will write down the agreement 
which the parties sign.  Copies of the agreement are given to the parties. The agreement is a legally-
binding document.  If a party does not meet its obligations under the agreement, the other party may 
request the Court to enforce the agreement. 
 
Q:  What do the parties need to bring to the pretrial conference to engage in mediation? 
A:  The court requires the parties bring the 2 (two) copies of any evidence supporting the party’s claim or 
defense.  For example: statements, receipts, invoices, photographs, electronic files.  These documents will 
help the other party understand your position and concerns, and allow the parties to make informed 
decisions, knowing the evidence that will be presented at a trial. 
 
Q:  Should the parties bring their witnesses to the pretrial hearing? 
A:  Witnesses are part of a trial process, not part of the mediation process.   However if the parties do not 
come to an agreement through mediation, the parties can bring their witness to the trial. 
 
Q:  Can I bring a friend or family member with me to mediation? 
A:  You are welcome to bring a support person with you to the prehearing conference and mediation.  
However, that person will not be allowed into the mediation room unless all the parties agree the support 
person may be present.  If the parties do not agree, the support person will be required to wait outside the 
mediation room.   
 
Q:  Can the Dispute Resolution Center help the parties settle their dispute before the pretrial 
conference date? 
A:  Yes, and the DRC encourages parties to attempt to do that.  The DRC offers both office in-person and 
telephone mediation services.  There is no cost for these services.  Office in-person mediations are 
scheduled at a time convenient to the parties and mediator, at the DRC office.  If the parties are willing to 
try telephone mediation, a DRC mediator will talk with each party individually on the phone; helping 
each side understand the issues, brainstorm possible solutions, and relay offers to the other party.  If the 
parties are able to agree on a resolution, the mediator will write up the terms of the agreement in the 
parties own words, for the parties to sign.  Each party receives a copy of the signed agreement.  The Court 
will be advised that the parties have settled the case, the parties will not have to appear at the pretrial 
conference, and the case will be dismissed. If a party does not follow the agreement, the other party has 
the option to bring the case back to court and ask the court to enter a judgment against the defaulting 
party.  There is no additional filing fee.  
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If you’re interested in learning more about office or telephone mediation, please contact the DRC 
at www.kcdrc.org or 206-443-9603, extension 1.   
 
 
Q:  What if I settle my dispute without mediation before my assigned pretrial conference date?   
A:   Be sure to notify the Court in writing the parties have settled the case before any pretrial or trial date.  
 
A:  What if I need more information regarding small claims court? 
A:  King County District Court provides information about its small claims department on the Court’s 
website: http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/district-court/small-claims.aspx. While the clerks are very 
knowledgeable and helpful about the court’s procedures, they are not allowed to provide any party with 
legal advice. The Court can be reached at: 206-205-9200 or email: KCDC@kingcounty.gov . 
 
Q:  Where can I obtain more information? 
A:  For more information about mediation, visit: www.kcdrc.org/  
      For self-help materials regarding small claims court, visit: washingtonlawhelp.org 



http://www.kcdrc.org/

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/district-court/small-claims.aspx

mailto:KCDC@kingcounty.gov

http://washingtonlawhelp.org/



		Q:  What happens at the District Court’s pretrial hearing?

		A:  Courts frequently find that many people who file a small claim case can solve the dispute through facilitated mediation.  On the date of the pretrial hearing, if the both parties in the case are present, they will be assigned a trained mediator an...

		If you are unable to reach an agreement through mediation, the case will be returned to courtroom for a pretrial hearing. After confirming the parties are ready for trial, the judge will schedule a trial on the Court’s calendar.  At trial, a judge wil...

		If the other party is not present at the pretrial hearing, the judge will review the case to determine whether there was proper service. If service was proper the judge may hear evidence and enter a judgment against the person who did not appear, dism...

		Q:  How does mediation work?

		A:  The mediation will take approximately an hour and will be held in a private room at the courthouse.  A skilled and trained mediator will guide the parties through a process that gives the parties the chance to share information about the dispute, ...

		If the parties do reach an agreement, the mediator will write down the details of the parties’ agreement in the parties’ own words. Both parties will sign the agreement and receive copies.  The parties will ask the court to dismiss the case.

		Q:  What happens if the parties successfully reached an agreement but one party does not keep the agreement?

		A:  If the parties come to an agreement through mediation, the mediator will write down the agreement which the parties sign.  Copies of the agreement are given to the parties. The agreement is a legally-binding document.  If a party does not meet its...

		Q:  What do the parties need to bring to the pretrial conference to engage in mediation?

		A:  The court requires the parties bring the 2 (two) copies of any evidence supporting the party’s claim or defense.  For example: statements, receipts, invoices, photographs, electronic files.  These documents will help the other party understand you...

		Q:  Should the parties bring their witnesses to the pretrial hearing?

		Q:  What if I settle my dispute without mediation before my assigned pretrial conference date?

		Q:  Where can I obtain more information?

		A:  For more information about mediation, visit: www.kcdrc.org/

		For self-help materials regarding small claims court, visit: washingtonlawhelp.org






KING COUNTY DISTRICT COURT 
STATE OF WASHINGTON 


(1) , 


(2) , 
Plaintiff, 


v. 


(1) , 


(2) , 
Defendant. 


SMALL CLAIMS DEPARTMENT 


No. 


NOTICE OF SMALL CLAIM 
HEARING 
Date/Time: 
Location: 


(CLERK’S ACTION REQUIRED) 


Plaintiff Contact Information: 


(1) Address:


City: State: Zip: 


(2) Address:


City:  State: Zip: 


Phone No.:  


Email or Alt Phone: 


Phone No.:  


Email or Alt Phone: 


Defendant Contact Information: 


(1) Address:


City: State: Zip: 


(2) Address:


City: State: Zip: 


Phone No.:  


Email or Alt Phone: 


Phone No.:  


Email or Alt Phone: 


YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that the above-named plaintiff has filed a claim against you 
amounting to $      ; the reasons for which are stated below. 
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YOU ARE HEREBY FURTHER NOTIFIED to appear at: King County District Court, 


, 


Courtroom  , Washington, on  [Date], at a.m./p.m.
for  PRE-TRIAL  TRIAL. 


At the time of PRE-TRIAL, bring with you 2 copies of all papers, contracts and proof needed by you to 
establish or defend this claim. At the time of TRIAL, bring with you 2 copies of all proof needed by you 
to establish or defend this claim, and any witnesses who will testify on your behalf. 


YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that if you fail to personally appear as directed, a Judgment may be 
entered against you for the amount claimed, plus plaintiff’s costs of filing and service of the claim upon 
you. 


Plaintiff must also appear if a Judgment is to be entered.  If plaintiff fails to appear, the claim may be 
dismissed.  If this claim is settled prior to the hearing date, the parties must notify the Court immediately, 
in writing. 


Clerk 


STATEMENT OF CLAIM 


I,  , the undersigned plaintiff, declare that the defendant named above 


owes me the sum of $  , which became due and owing on  [Date].  


The amount owed is for: 


 Faulty Workmanship  Merchandise  Auto Damages-Date of Accident 


 Wages  Loan  Return of Deposit  Rent  Property Damage 


 Other  


Explain reason for claim 


I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct. 


Signed at _______________________, [City] ____________ [State] on ____________________ [Date]. 


Signature 
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Print or Type Name 





		1: 

		2: 

		No: 

		1_2: 

		DateTime: 

		2_2: 

		Location 1: 

		Location 2: 

		CLERKS ACTION REQUIRED: 

		1 Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		Zip: 

		2 Address: 

		City_2: 

		State_2: 

		Zip_2: 

		Phone No: 

		Email or Alt Phone: 

		Phone No_2: 

		Email or Alt Phone_2: 

		1 Address_2: 

		City_3: 

		State_3: 

		Zip_3: 

		2 Address_2: 

		City_4: 

		State_4: 

		Zip_4: 

		Phone No_3: 

		Email or Alt Phone_3: 

		Phone No_4: 

		Email or Alt Phone_4: 

		amounting to: 

		Washington on: 

		Date at: 

		PRETRIAL: Off

		TRIAL: Off

		I: 

		owes me the sum of: 

		which became due and owing on: 

		Faulty Workmanship: Off

		Merchandise: Off

		Auto DamagesDate of Accident: Off

		undefined_2: 

		Wages: Off

		Loan: Off

		Return of Deposit: Off

		Rent: Off

		Property Damage: Off

		Other: Off

		Explain reason for claim 1: 

		Explain reason for claim 2: 

		Explain reason for claim 3: 

		Explain reason for claim 4: 

		Explain reason for claim 5: 

		Explain reason for claim 6: 

		Explain reason for claim 7: 

		Explain reason for claim 8: 

		Signed at: 

		City_5: 

		State on: 

		Print or Type Name: 

		cmbdivision: [ ]

		orloc: [.]

		Dropdown1: [.]
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NOTICE TO SERVICE MEMBERS AND THEIR DEPENDENTS 


 


NOTICE: State and federal law provide protections to defendants who are in the military 
service, and to their dependents. Dependents of a service member are the service member's 
spouse, the service member's minor child, or an individual for whom the service member 
provided more than one-half of the individual's support for one hundred eighty days 
immediately preceding an application for relief. 


 


One protection provided is the protection against the entry of a default judgment in certain 
circumstances. This notice pertains only to a defendant who is a dependent of a member of the 
national guard or a military reserve component under a call to active service, or a national 
guard member under a call to service authorized by the governor of the state of Washington, 
for a period of more than thirty consecutive days. Other defendants in military service also have 
protections against default judgments not covered by this notice. If you are the dependent of a 
member of the national guard or a military reserve component under a call to active service, or 
a national guard member under a call to service authorized by the governor of the state of 
Washington, for a period of more than thirty consecutive days, you should notify the plaintiff or 
the plaintiff's attorneys in writing of your status as such within twenty days of the receipt of this 
notice. If you fail to do so, then a court or an administrative tribunal may presume that you are 
not a dependent of an active duty member of the national guard or reserves, or a national 
guard member under a call to service authorized by the governor of the state of Washington, 
and proceed with the entry of an order of default and/or a default judgment without further 
proof of your status. Your response to the plaintiff or plaintiff's attorneys about your status 
does not constitute an appearance for jurisdictional purposes in any pending litigation nor a 
waiver of your rights.  


For further information see RCW 38.42.050. 
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Dear Small Claim Court Parties: 
A small claim action involving you has been filed in the King County District Court (KCDC).  


 
Since 1987, the DRC, a non-profit organization, has provided free or low-cost conflict 


resolution and mediation services to the community. The DRC is not part of the District Court.  
 


What is Mediation?  
• Mediation is a voluntary and confidential meeting between you and the other party, with a 


professionally trained, neutral mediator.    
• The mediator helps the parties work together to create mutually agreeable solutions without offering 


legal advice or an evaluation of the case.  
• If agreements are made, the mediator will write up the agreement using the parties’ own words and 


both parties will leave the mediation with the signed written agreement.  The Court will be notified the 
parties have reached an agreement, and the parties will not have to attend the scheduled prehearing 
conference or trial. 


• Choosing to mediate does not affect your right to a trial. If you are unable to reach an agreement with 
the other party you still have the right to proceed to trial. 


• If one of the parties does not follow the terms of the agreement, the agreement can be presented to 
the Court with a request that it be converted into an enforceable judgment. 


Why Should I Choose Mediation?  
• Mediation enables the parties to determine the outcome of their conflict, rather than being forced to 


accept a judgment from the Court that may leave neither party satisfied.  
• Unlike a public trial, mediation is confidential and does not become part of the court record. 
• At trial, the judge is limited to granting or denying a money judgment.  Mediation is more flexible.  
• With a mediated agreement, a party may agree to complete a job, return an item of property, or pay 


money using a payment plan.  
 


 
 


We look forward to hearing from you and appreciate your interest in our services!  


How Do I Set Up a Mediation? 
In order to resolve your dispute before your scheduled pretrial hearing or trial, IMMEDIATELY contact: 
DISPUTE RESOLUTION CENTER OF KING COUNTY at www.kcdrc.org or call 206-443-9603.  The 
sooner you contact DRC, the more time DRC will have to work with the parties prior to your scheduled 
court date.  While DRC usually has trained mediators available at the pretrial hearing to conduct 
mediations, the time available to conduct mediations is shorter. 
 


The Court strongly encourages parties to work to resolve their small claim case through mediation before 
the scheduled pretrial hearing or trial.  KCDC has arranged for the Dispute Resolution Center of King 
County (DRC) to provide mediation assistance to the parties at no additional cost to you.  


 



http://www.kcdrc.org/

http://www.kcdrc.org/





