Memo

To: King County Affordable Housing Committee Members

From: McCaela Daffern, Regional Affordable Housing Implementation Manager

CC: Housing Interjurisdictional Team

Date: February 4, 2022

Re: 2022 Affordable Housing Committee Membership Update

Background

Affordable Housing Committee (AHC or Committee) members are selected every odd numbered year in January by the Chair of the Growth Management Planning Council (GMPC), with concurrence from the GMPC membership. Members serve two-year terms and there is no limit on the number of times members can be re-appointed.¹

Though most Committee members are halfway through their appointed terms, recent member turnover combined with Seattle and King County Council's practice of appointing new Committee members annually, mean that several new members will join the Committee in a provisional capacity starting at the February 9 meeting. See Exhibit A for the Affordable Housing Committee membership roster as of today.

Five new members will serve on the AHC in a provisional capacity until formally appointed by the GMPC Chair, King County Executive Dow Constantine, later this year:

- 1. Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles, King County Council
- 2. Kelly Rider on behalf of Executive Dow Constantine, King County Department of Community and Human Services
- 3. Maiko Winkler-Chin on behalf of Mayor Bruce Harrell, Seattle Office of Housing (will start attending once she starts her new role)
- 4. Deputy Mayor Nigel Herbig, Kenmore, on behalf of Sound Cities Association
- 5. Councilmember Marli Larimer, Kent, on behalf of Sound Cities Association

Two members will serve on the Committee on an interim basis until permanent representatives from their organizations are identified:

- 1. Jennifer Anderson, Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties
- 2. Tim Walter, King County Housing Authority

¹ https://kingcounty.gov/depts/community-human-services/housing/~/media/depts/community-human-services/housing-homelessness-community-development/documents/affordable-housing-committee/AHC_Charter_2021,-d-,04.ashx?la=en

The seat held by Niki Krimmel-Morrison with the Northwest Justice Project is vacant.

Four new alternates were appointed by Sound Cities Association. These alternates are not subject to appointment by the GMPC Chair:

- 1. Councilmember Amy Falcone, Kirkland, on behalf of Sound Cities Association
- 2. Deputy Mayor Dana Parnello, Maple Valley, on behalf of Sound Cities Association
- 3. Councilmember Chris Stearns, Auburn, on behalf of Sound Cities Association
- 4. Council President Lindsey Walsh, Issaquah, on behalf of Sound Cities Association

Staff thank former members for their many hours of service and extend a warm welcome to the members.

Next Steps

Date	Actions
Feb. 2022	King County staff invite new members to serve on the AHC in a provisional capacity until formally appointed.
Mar. 2022	The AHC Chair briefs the GMPC on AHC membership recommendations.
Apr. 2021	GMPC Chair appoints new members.

Exhibit A: 2022 Affordable Housing Committee Roster, as of February 4, 2022

Provisional and/or Appointed AHC Members

Name	Organization/Jurisdiction	Status
Jennifer Anderson	Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties	Interim replacement for Caia Caldwell until permanent MBAKS member is identified
Don Billen	Sound Transit	Returning member
Susan Boyd (Committee Vice Chair)	Bellwether Housing	Returning member
Alex Brennan	Futurewise	Returning member
Jane Broom	Microsoft Philanthropies	Returning member
Kelly Coughlin	SnoValley Chamber of Commerce	Returning member
Vacant	Northwest Justice Project	Working to identify recommended replacement
Michael Ramos	Church Council of Greater Seattle	Returning member
Brett Waller	Washington Multi-Family Housing Association	Returning member
Tim Walter	King County Housing Authority	Interim replacement for Stephen Norman until permanent housing authority member is identified
Council Chair Claudia Balducci (Committee Chair)	King County Council	Returning member
Councilmember Jeanne Kohl- Welles	King County Council	Recommended replacement for Councilmember Reagan Dunn
Kelly Rider (on behalf of Executive Dow Constantine)	King County Department of Community and Human Services	Recommended replacement for Mark Ellerbrook
Maiko Winkler-Chin (on behalf of Mayor Bruce Harrell)	City of Seattle Office of Housing	Recommended replacement for Emily Alvarado
Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda	Seattle City Council	Returning member
Deputy Mayor Nigel Herbig, Kenmore	Sound Cities Association	Former alternate and recommended replacement for Burien Councilmember Nancy Tosta
Councilmember Marli Larimer, Kent	Sound Cities Association	Former alternate and recommended replacement for Auburn Deputy Mayor Claude DaCorsi
Councilmember Ryan McIrvin, Renton	Sound Cities Association	Returning member
Mayor Lynne Robinson, Bellevue	Sound Cities Association	Returning member

Appointed Alternates

Name	Organization/Jurisdiction	Status
Councilmember Amy Falcone,	Sound Cities Association	New alternate; alternates are appointed
Kirkland		by SCA and not the GMPC Chair
Deputy Mayor Dana Parnello,	Sound Cities Association	New alternate; alternates are appointed
Maple Valley		by SCA and not the GMPC Chair
Councilmember Chris Stearns,	Sound Cities Association	New alternate; alternates are appointed
Auburn		by SCA and not the GMPC Chair
Councilmember Dan Strauss	Seattle City Council	Returning alternate
Council President Lindsey	Sound Cities Association	New alternate; alternates are appointed
Walsh, Issaquah		by SCA and not the GMPC Chair