# Memo

To: King County Affordable Housing Committee Members

From: McCaela Daffern, Regional Affordable Housing Implementation Manager

cc: Housing Interjurisdictional Team

**Date:** March 10, 2023

Re: Affordable Housing Committee Leadership Elections and Member Appointments

## In Brief

At the March 16 Affordable Housing Committee (AHC or Committee) meeting, members will:

- learn about the proposed member appointments to the AHC for 2023 and 2024; and
- nominate and elect a Committee Chair and Vice Chair for 2023 and 2024.

Members may nominate someone for the Chair and/or Vice Chair positions at the meeting, or via email to McCaela Daffern at mdaffern@kingcounty.gov prior to the meeting.

## **Member Appointments**

According to the AHC Charter, AHC members are selected every odd numbered year in January by the Chair of the Growth Management Planning Council (GMPC), with concurrence from the GMPC membership. Seattle, King County, and Sound Cities Association caucuses recommend new AHC appointments for their members, with some caucuses recommending new members every year. Members serve two-year terms and there is no limit on the number of times members can be reappointed. As such, all AHC member terms expired at the end of 2022.

In February 2023, staff emailed AHC members to confirm interest in serving another term and asked members to respond by March 1 if they did not wish to continue serving on the Committee. No Committee members expressed interest in leaving the AHC. The roster of proposed non-elected members for 2023 and 2024 is thus composed of the same non-elected members who participated in the AHC in an appointed or provisional capacity in 2022.

Based on input from Committee members, AHC staff recommended the following for appointment to the AHC through the end of December 2024:

## Returning members:

- 1. Don Billen, Sound Transit
- 2. Susan Boyd (2022 Committee Vice Chair), Bellwether Housing
- 3. Alex Brennan, Futurewise
- 4. Jane Broom, Microsoft Philanthropies
- 5. Kelly Coughlin, SnoValley Chamber of Commerce
- 6. Russell Joe, Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties
- 7. Ryan Makinster, Washington Multi-Family Housing Association
- 8. Michael Ramos, Church Council of Greater Seattle
- 9. Robin Walls, King County Housing Authority
- 10. Councilmember Claudia Balducci (2022 Committee Chair), King County Council
- 11. Maiko Winkler-Chin (on behalf of Mayor Harrell), City of Seattle Office of Housing

- 12. Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda, Seattle City Council
- 13. Deputy Mayor Nigel Herbig, Kenmore, Sound Cities Association
- 14. Councilmember Ryan McIrvin, Renton, Sound Cities Association
- 15. Mayor Lynne Robinson, Bellevue, Sound Cities Association

#### New members:

- 1. Sunaree Marshall (on behalf of Executive Dow Constantine), *King County Department of Community and Human Services*
- 2. Councilmember Amy Falcone, Kirkland, Sound Cities Association
- 3. King County Council Chair Dave Upthegrove, King County Council

#### Chair and Vice Chair Elections

In addition to membership appointments, AHC members must elect a Chair and Vice Chair for new, two-year terms at the March 16 meeting. Per the AHC Charter, the Chair must be a GMPC member and the Vice Chair cannot be an elected official. Like regular member terms, there is no limit on the number of times the Chair and Vice Chair can be reappointed.

## The Chair is responsible for:

- Setting meeting agendas in consultation with the Vice Chair
- Developing the draft annual work plan and meeting schedule, in consultation with the Vice Chair and with staff support, for Committee adoption
- Working with staff to recommend and approve meeting materials
- Chairing AHC meetings
- Providing guidance to staff as needed
- Providing regular reports to the GMPC, as requested by the GMPC Chair

## The Vice Chair is responsible for:

- Consulting on meeting agendas and AHC work plan
- Serving in the Chair's stead as needed

The Chair and Vice Chair participate in monthly check-in meetings with AHC staff.

Please note that AHC members may nominate themselves or a fellow Committee member either at the March 16 meeting. Members unable to attend who wish to nominate someone should email McCaela Daffern at mdaffern@kingcounty.gov prior to the March 16 AHC meeting. AHC will vote to select a Chair and Vice Chair at the March 16 meeting.

## Next Steps

On March 22, the GMPC will concur with recommended AHC appointments. Following GMPC concurrence, the GMPC Chair will send appointment letters to all AHC members.