Skip to main content

Eastside Transportation Partnership

The Eastside Transportation Partnership (ETP) provides an Eastside forum for inter-jurisdictional cooperation to implement coordinated, prioritized transportation plans and programs through leadership, education, and advocacy.


The Eastside Transportation Partnership (ETP) was established through an Interlocal Agreement in 1987, which provided funds for a study that resulted in recommendations for transportation improvements on the Eastside. That study was completed, recommendations were adopted, and staffing responsibility was transferred in 1990 from the City of Redmond to King County. Efforts have continued to implement the recommended projects, and many of which have been completed or are currently underway.

By 1995, because of increases in jobs, population, and vehicle miles traveled, declining transportation revenues, and new legislation, including the Growth Management Act and Commute Trip Reduction Act, the ETP determined that the 1991 recommendations needed to be updated. In 1995 the group was awarded a federal grant of Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act funds. This was supplemented by matching contributions from ETP member jurisdictions, a new Interlocal Agreement was approved, and a consultant was hired in January 1997 to complete the update. This was completed and adopted in 1998. Since that time, ETP has focused its attention on regional coordination and advocacy for ETP priorities.



  • Develop and adopt a package of transportation priorities based on adopted land use plans that improves overall mobility for people, freight and goods, and addressing peak hour congestion on the Eastside.
  • Jointly implement adopted priorities through leadership, education, and advocacy within communities, cities and the region.
  • Adopt and implement a strategy for increasing funding for transportation improvements and programs.

Members (2024)

Position District Member(s)
Chair Issaquah Deputy Council President Barbara de Michele
Vice Chair Redmond Council President Vanessa Kritzer
Member Bellevue Councilmember Jared Nieuwenhuis
Member Bellevue Open
Member Bothell Councilmember Jeanne Zornes
Member Bothell Councilmember Jenne Alderks
Member Issaquah Councilmember Zach Hall
Member Kenmore Mayor Nigel Herbig
Member Kenmore Councilmember Nathan Loutsis
Member Kirkland Deputy Mayor Jay Arnold
Member Kirkland Councilmember Neal Black
Member Mercer Island Mayor Salim Nice
Member Mercer Island Councilmember Craig Reynolds
Member Newcastle Councilmember Steve Tallman
Member Newcastle Councilmember Ariana Sherlock
Member Redmond Councilmember Osman Salahuddin
Member* Renton* Councilmember Kim-Khánh Van
Member* Renton* Councilmember James Alberson Jr.
Member Sammamish Councilmember Karen Howe
Member Sammamish Councilmember Sid Gupta
Member Woodinville Deputy Mayor James Randolph
Member Woodinville Councilmember Sarah Arndt
Member Small Cities Coalition
(2 votes)
  • Beaux Arts: Open
  • Clyde Hill: Councilmember Lisa Wissner-Slivka
  • Hunts Point: Mayor Joe Sabey
  • Medina: Mayor Jessica Rossman
  • Yarrow Point: Mayor Katy Harris
Member Snoqualmie Valley Cities
(2 votes)
  • Carnation: Mayor Jim Ribail
  • Duvall: Councilmember Jennifer Knaplund
  • North Bend: Mayor Mary Miller
  • Snoqualmie: Open
Member King County Executive Dow Constantine
Member King County Councilmember Sarah Perry
Member King County Councilmember Claudia Balducci
Alternate Bothell Deputy Mayor Rami Al-Kabra
Alternate Kirkland Councilmember Penny Sweet
Alternate Redmond Council Vice President Jessica Forsythe
Alternate Sammamish Councilmember Kent Treen