Skip to main content
King County logo

New vital records law

Beginning on January 1, 2021, a new vital records law goes into effect that changes the ordering requirements for birth certificates. For increased security of personal information, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the birth record being requested can receive a birth certificate. Identity and proof documentation will be required. Download a flyer to learn more (PDF)


As COVID-19 restrictions ease, the King County Vital Statistics Office is open on a limited basis from 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Monday-Friday for pick-up ONLY of pre-ordered Will Call Requests at 908 Jefferson Street in Seattle. Birth and death certificates may continue to be ordered online, by mail or over the phone. Specialists are available to answer questions over the phone 206-897-5100 during business hours between 8:00 am - 4:30 pm. More information regarding Will Call and all other services can be found on this site.


Funeral home hours

Starting on July 13, 2021 the King County Vital Statistics Office will have a limited reopening to funeral staff for 2 hours during the day between 9:30 - 10:30 am and again between 3:00 - 4:00 pm Monday- Friday.

As we continue in the fight against COVID-19 our office will be monitoring the number of guests in our lobby at one time. In order to safely accommodate overcrowding our doors will remain physically closed. Once on site please call the main number(206) 897-4551 and staff will let you in during the times listed above. Also starting July 13, 2021 King County will return to in person filings of Fetal Death Certificates. Please remember that the Fetal Death Certificate must have original signatures when presented at the counter for filing. The following services will be available for in-person pick-up Will Call service for funeral home orders, ship out documents, Fetal Death certificate filings and other permits as needed. To reduce wait times in the lobby all orders for death certificates should be submitted to the VRDCERT email address before 2:00 pm the previous day.

  • All persons who died in Seattle city limits (all years)
  • All persons who died in King County from 1944 to the present
  • All Washington State deaths that were filed electronically (starting in 2005)

For any other deaths that occurred in Washington, visit the Washington State Center for Health Statistics website or call them at 360-236-4300 or toll-free, 800-525-0127.

To purchase a death certificate, you must:

  • Be a qualified applicant and prove your relationship by submitting proof documentation.
  • Provide identity documentation.
  • Provide required information.
  • Pay the fee. Fees start at $25.

Certificate fees

  • Death certificates are $25.00 each.
  • Important note: No refunds will be given if a record could not be located or the documentation you provided did not prove you were eligible to receive a death certificate.

Additional fees and payment information

Purchase in our lobby, while you wait:

  • There is no additional fee for death certificates purchased in our lobby when paying with cash, check or money orders.
  • Credit cards are accepted. A bank card processing fee of 2.35% ($2.00 minimum) will be applied to all transactions.

Orders submitted by mail with payment by check or money order:

  • In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), an additional fee of $4.00 per order applies when an order is submitted by mail and payment is made by check or money order.
  • Checks and money orders should be made payable to: King County Vital Statistics or KCVS.

Payment by credit card:

  • Credit cards are accepted in the lobby with a bank card processing fee of 2.35%, $2.00 minimum will be applied to all transactions.
  • Credit cards can be used to place orders online, by telephone and in-person
  • Credit card orders are processed through one of two third-party vendors VitalChek or Point and Pay. Point and Pay is used for lobby purchases only. In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), VitalChek has an additional fee of $15.50 per order.
  • For more details, see the section below, titled "Orders with payment by credit card".

As COVID-19 restrictions ease, the King County Vital Statistics Office is open on a limited basis from 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Monday-Friday for pick-up ONLY of pre-ordered Will Call Requests at 908 Jefferson Street in Seattle. Birth and death certificates may continue to be ordered online, by mail or over the phone. Specialists are available to answer questions over the phone 206-897-5100 during business hours between 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.

To place a Will Call order, please visit the VitalChek website or call our office at 206-897-5100.  After placing the order, you will receive a series of emails providing the status of your order. Once you receive the email that states "Your order is ready for pickup", please come to the lobby of the Ninth & Jefferson Building at 908 Jefferson between 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm, call 206-897-5100 and someone will meet you downstairs with your certificate. You must have your Washington State ID ready to show staff before certificates can be released.

Location:

Metered street parking is available in the area. Parking in the Ninth & Jefferson Building garage is free for the first thirty minutes.

Harborview Medical Center
Ninth & Jefferson Building, 2nd Floor
908 Jefferson St
Seattle, WA 98104

Download mail-in form (PDF)

  • Print out the form, write in your information, and mail it, along with your payment, to the address provided on the form.
  • In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), an additional fee of $4.00 per order applies when an order is submitted by mail and payment is made by check or money order.
  • Checks and money orders should be made payable to: Vital Statistics.
  • You can expect your death certificate order in approximately 2-3 weeks when choosing the mail-in method.
  • For information about ordering by mail and paying by credit card, see the section below, titled "Orders with payment by credit card."

Applies to all orders placed online, by fax, and by telephone. Applies to mail orders when paying by credit card.

Vital Statistics at Public Health — Seattle & King County accepts credit cards processed through VitalChek Network, Inc., an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service.

What to expect on your credit card bill using VitalChek services:

  • The base fee for birth and death certificates is $25.00 each.
  • A fee of $15.50 is added per order (for any quantity of records in the order) For example:
    • One certificate at $25 + the $15.50 priority handling fee = $37.50 total charged to your credit card.
    • Two certificates at $50 + the $15.50 priority handling fee = $62.50 total charged to your credit card.
    • Note: the examples above assume standard shipping (with no additional fee for shipping.)
  • Rush delivery is available via United Parcel Service (UPS) for an additional fee of $18.50.
    • UPS rush delivery requires a signature when delivered.
    • UPS will not deliver to PO boxes.
  • Below is more detailed information about how to place an order online, by telephone, and by mail when paying by credit card.

6A. Online orders

Online orders can be make using VitalChek.

Will Call Service for ordering birth and death certificates:
This service allows you to place an order over the phone or online and pick up your order at our office later the same day. If we receive your order by 10:00 am, we will have your certificates ready for pickup between 1:00 pm -3:00 pm the same day. VitalChek will send status updates regarding your order and provide instructions for picking up your certificates. The cost will be the same as a regular VitalChek order ($40.50). If we receive your order after 10:00 am, your certificates will be ready for pickup by 1:00 pm the following business day. To place an order call 206-897-4551. Please indicate that this is a Will Call request while placing the order with our staff.

Place your Will Call order online.


6B. Phone orders

  • Call 206-897-4551 during business hours: Monday-Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Pacific Time. Toll-free number: 1-800-325-6165, ext. 6-4768.
  • To order over the telephone, a credit card is required.
  • All telephone orders are processed within 1-2 business days and then sent by regular mail, unless you select rush delivery.
  • Rush delivery is available via UPS for an additional fee of $18.50.
    • UPS rush delivery requires a signature when delivered.
    • UPS will not deliver to PO boxes.
  • For payment information, see the section above, titled "Orders with payment by credit card."

6C. Ordering by mail with payment by credit card

Download mail-in form (PDF)

  • Print out the form, write in your information, including your credit card details, and mail it to the address provided on the form.
  • You can expect your birth certificate order in approximately 2-3 weeks when choosing the mail-in method.
  • For payment information, see the section above, titled "Orders with payment by credit card."

NOTE: Because payment is involved, orders cannot be submitted by email.

Download a fillable PDF order form that is only for use by facilities with pre-established accounts with Public Health – Seattle & King County.

  • Ordering by mail: Birth or death certificate orders received through the mail take approximately two weeks, which includes time for US Post Office delivery.

  • If you come in person: Orders requested in person at the Vital Statistics office normally take less than twenty minutes unless there is some complication with the record.

  • If you order by credit card: Orders requested over the telephone, via fax or through the website using a credit card will be processed the same day or the following business day. When placing these orders there is an additional expedited fee of $12.50. Your choices of delivery are regular mail (included) or UPS overnight which is an additional $18.50.

    NOTE: A fee of $15.50 is added per order (for any quantity of records in the order) for expedited handling so if you are ordering one birth certificate at $25 + $12.50 handling fee, you can expect a total of $37.50 charged to your credit card. If you are ordering 2 copies, the charge is $50 + $12.50 = $62.50 total charged to your card.
Death certificate order form in Spanish:

Please be aware

The Washington State Dept. of Health has received an increased number of calls about third party vendors selling birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates. These companies charge customers high fees to "process" or "help apply" for certificates issued from the Department of Health.  VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com  is our only contracted vendor. If you have ordered through one of these third party companies and would like to file a consumer complaint, visit the Washington State Attorney General Consumer Protection Division.

For the fastest service, without high fees, we encourage customers to order certified copies only from our office, King County Vital Statistics per instructions on this page, Washington State Dept. of Health, your local Washington state county health department or through our contracted vendor, VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com


Link/share our site at www.kingcounty.gov/death