Skip to main content
King County logo

King County Combined transportation boards meeting

Friday, April 2, 2021 from 7:30 AM to 9:00 AM

Join Zoom meeting

Meeting ID: 989 1145 7150
Passcode: 357601
One tap mobile
+12532158782,,98911457150#, *357601# US (Tacoma)

Mission: To serve as an interjurisdictional forum for information-sharing, advocacy, and coordination to resolve transportation issues, and to establish priorities for implementing integrated multi-modal transportation projects and programs consistent with the goals of the Growth Management Act.

2018 Co-Chairs:

  • Councilmember Phillippa Kassover of Lake Forest Park
  • Councilmember Doris McConnell of Shoreline

The SeaShore Transportation Forum was initially formed in response to the King County Metro Transit Long Range Policy Framework, adopted in 1993, that divided Metro service into three geographic subareas for the purpose of allocating new transit service subsidy. The “Seattle-North King County” subarea created for this purpose included only the cities of Seattle, Shoreline, and Lake Forest Park, and King County. Sound Transit created a similar subarea and adopted a subarea equity policy as part of Sound Move.

In about 1995, the SeaShore Transportation Forum began regular meetings, with participation by the City of Seattle, King County, Lake Forest Park, Shoreline, Snohomish County, Bothell and the Kenmore Governance Committee, which later became the City of Kenmore. The primary focus was to develop recommendations for the subarea for the first Six Year Plan for Metro. Recommendations were developed by consensus, and the Forum was effective in providing input to the first Six Year Plan. In addition, the Forum endorsed the RTA’s Final Plan, “Sound Move,” and provided joint recommendations to King County Executive Gary Locke concerning 1997 and 1998 transit service priorities.

By 2001, participation in the Forum waned, and only a few elected officials attended meetings. As a result, invitations to participate in the Forum were extended to other cities in east King County and south Snohomish County to address cross-county and King County issues. Woodinville, Mountlake Terrace, and Edmonds responded and became members of the Forum. Recommendations from the group continued to be developed by consensus.

To fulfill its mission, SeaShore adopted the following goals in May 1997:

  • Develop and adopt a package of transportation priorities based on land use and cost/benefit plans that improves interjurisdictional mobility, freight and goods movement, safety, and addresses peak hour congestion.
  • Jointly implement adopted priorities through leadership education and advocacy and public involvement within communities, cities and counties of the region.
  • Adopt and implement a strategy for increasing funding for multimodal transportation improvements and programs.

Members (2018)

Voting members:

  • King County – Executive Dow Constantine
  • King County – Chris Arkills (Alt)
  • King County – Councilmember Rod Dembowski
  • King County – Garrett Holbrook (Alt)
  • King County – Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles
  • King County – Nick Bowman (Alt)
  • Lake Forest Park – Councilmember Phillippa Kassover (Co-Chair)
  • Lake Forest Park – Councilmember John Wright (Alt)
  • Seattle – Kelsey Beck
  • Shoreline – Councilmember Doris McConnell (Co-Chair)
  • Shoreline – Councilmember Keith McGlashan (Alt)

Non-Voting Members:

  • Bothell – Councilmember James McNeal
  • Bothell – Liam Olsen (Alt)
  • Edmonds – Councilmember Tom Mesaros
  • Mountlake Terrace – Mayor Kyoko Matsumoto Wright
  • Snohomish County – Steve Thomsen
  • Woodinville – Councilmember Susan Boundy-Sanders
  • Woodinville – Councilmember Paul Waters / Deputy Mayor Elaine Cook (Alt)
  • Community Transit – Brian Doennebrink
  • Puget Sound Regional Council – Kelly McGourty
  • Puget Sound Regional Council – Ben Bakkenta (Alt)
  • Sound Transit – Councilmember Paul Roberts
  • Washington State Department of Transportation – Thomas Noyes
  • Washington State Department of Transportation – Robin Mayhew (Alt)

Time and location:

7:30 - 9:00 a.m.
First Friday of every month
Shoreline City Hall
17500 Midvale Avenue N
Shoreline, WA


Contact us

Lauren Craig 
King County Metro Transit
Local Government Relations

Translation disclaimer