Skip to main content

County Council completes 2014 reorganization with appointment of committee chairs


Metropolitan King County
Council News

County Council completes 2014 reorganization with appointment of committee chairs


New Chairs for two standing committees, two regional committees


The Metropolitan King County Council today completed its yearly reorganization with the appointment of the chairs of the Council’s standing committees. Councilmembers gave their unanimous approval to the selection of new chairs for the Council’s Committee of the Whole and Transportation, Economy and Environment Committee, along with the appointment of new chairs for two of the regional committees that provide a forum for development and review of countywide plans and policies.

Council Vice Chair Jane Hague will become the new chair of the Committee of the Whole. Councilmember Rod Dembowski will chair the Transportation, Economy and Environment Committee. Reagan Dunn will become the new chair of the Regional Transit Committee. Dave Upthegrove, the newest member of the County Council, will chair the Regional Water Quality Committee. The rest of the committee chairs will remain the same as in 2013.

“In the spirit of the strategic plan, this Council continues to place an important emphasis on regional coordination,” said Vice Chair Jane Hague. As Chair of the Committee of the Whole, leading the charge on building lasting regional partnerships will be an exciting leadership role for me in 2014.”

“I am excited for the opportunity to Chair the Transportation, Economy, and Environment Committee and help take on the tremendous challenge King County faces in finding a solution to the looming Metro Transit budget shortfall,” said Councilmember Rod Dembowski. “I am committed to continuing the great work of Councilmember Phillips to prevent the cuts while protecting access to transit for our most vulnerable populations. I look forward to also leading the council’s work on economic development, pay equity and income disparity, affordable housing, and protecting our environment. These are all critical to King County’s quality of life and continued climb out of the Great Recession.”

“I am eager to again serve as Chair of the Regional Transit Committee (RTC),” said Councilmember Reagan Dunn. “Transit issues in our County touch nearly every segment of our community and I will work hard to address the issues before us.”

“I am thrilled to be appointed to committees that will allow me to continue my efforts in building South King County as a community where businesses can prosper, diverse communities thrive, and vulnerable populations and the environment are protected,” said Councilmember Dave Upthegrove. “It is important that County resources are used fairly and equitably in developing sustainable budgets – I am excited to start my committee work.”

Committee of the Whole —  Jane Hague, Chair
Considers legislation and policy issues of interest to the entire Council, and is the only standing committee on which all nine members serve.

Budget and Fiscal Management — Joe McDermott, Chair
Develops the Council’s policy direction for the King County Budget, and makes recommendations on the County’s structural funding gap and capital and operating budget appropriations. McDermott will also chair the Council’s four-member Budget Leadership Team (BLT) for the County Budget deliberations.

Government Accountability and Oversight — Pete von Reichbauer, Chair
Responsible for making recommendations on improving the efficiency, cost effectiveness and performance of all branches of County Government and enhancing the oversight, accountability and transparency in King County government.

Transportation, Economy and Environment — Rod Dembowski, Chair
Responsible for oversight of transportation (including public transit and county roads), salmon recovery, and water quality and control. Makes recommendations on policies relating to growth management (including land use development and regulation), comprehensive planning, annexations, affordable housing, and the unincorporated and rural areas.

Law, Justice, Health and Human Services — Kathy Lambert, Chair
Considers and makes recommendations on policies relating to public safety, criminal justice and emergency management. Makes policy recommendations relating to public health, human services and housing programs, including the implementation of the Mental Illness and Drug Dependency Action Plan and the Veterans and Human Services Levy.

Members today also appointed chairs for the three regional committees established under the King County Charter that provide a forum for development and review of countywide plans and policies. These committees include elected officials from other local jurisdictions:

Regional Water Quality Committee — Dave Upthegrove, Chair
Develops, reviews, and recommends countywide policies and plans for water quality and sewer service issues, long range capital facilities plans, rate policies and facilities siting to guide King County’s regional water quality responsibilities.

Regional Policy Committee — Pete von Reichbauer, Chair
Reviews and recommends regional policies and plans, other than transit and water quality. Issues that may be referred to the Committee or be the subject of the committee's policy development include, but are not limited to, public health, human services, open space, housing, solid waste management, regional services, financial policies, criminal justice, jails and district court services, and the siting of regional facilities.

Regional Transit Committee — Reagan Dunn, Chair
Reviews and makes recommendations to the County Council on policies and plans for the public transportation services operated by King County. These policies govern the planning and delivery of bus service, commuter vanpools, and van service for people with disabilities; establishing of the structure for transit fares; the purchase of new buses; and the construction of bus shelters, park and ride lots, and other transit facilities.

2014 County Council Committee Assignments 

Committee of the Whole: Hague, Chair, McDermott, Vice Chair. All Councilmembers serve on the Committee.

Budget and Fiscal Management: McDermott, Chair, Lambert Vice Chair.
Members: Dembowski, Hague, Upthegrove

Government Accountability and Oversight: von Reichbauer, Chair, Upthegrove, Vice Chair. Members: Dembowski, Dunn

Transportation, Economy and Environment: Dembowski, Chair, Hague, Vice Chair.
Members: Lambert, McDermott, Phillips, Upthegrove, von Reichbauer.

Law, Justice Health and Human Services: Lambert, Chair, Dembowski, Vice Chair.
Members: Gossett, McDermott

Regional Policy Committee: von Reichbauer, Chair
Members: Gossett, Lambert, McDermott (Alternate)

Regional Transit Committee: Dunn, Chair
Members: Hague, McDermott, Dembowski (Alternate)

Regional Water Quality Committee: Upthegrove, Chair
Members: Hague, Phillips, Dembowski (Alternate)

Contact the Council
Main phone:
Relay: 711
Find my Councilmember
Click Here