Skip to main content
King County logo

County landmark designation and regulation is limited by law to the unincorporated area. In 1995 the county established a regional landmark protection program. Today more than half of the cities contract for landmark services from the county. The cities of Seattle, Mercer Island and Bothell have their own historic preservation programs, but Seattle contracts with the county for archaeological review services. To participate in the county’s regional program, cities must adopt certain sections of the county landmark ordinance by reference, appoint a city representative to the Landmarks Commission, and provide for design review of any changes proposed to landmark properties. Additional services include preparing nominations, conducting historic resource surveys, and assistance with preservation planning and environmental review. The King County Regional Preservation Program continues to be one of the largest and most unique in the Pacific Northwest.

Featured Landmark Districts

Des Moines Beach Park Historic District - 1MB PDF
Kent's Mill Creek Residential Historic District Nomination & Map - 2MB PDF
North Bend Historic Commercial District Nomination & Map - 516KB PDF
Snoqualmie Historic Commercial District Nomination & Map - 201KB PDF

Featured Individual Landmarks

Auburn Pioneer Cemetery - 553KB PDF
Issaquah's Gilman Town Hall & Jail - 614KB PDF
Kent's Mill Creek Canyon Earthworks - 1MB PDF
Kirkland's Ferry Clock - 120KB PDF
Redmond City Park - 1MB PDF
Snoqualmie's "Messenger of Peace" Chapel Car - 2MB PDF
Tukwila's Boeing Red Barn - 6MB PDF
Woodinville's DeYoung House - 140KB PDF


Japanese American Legacies in the White River Valley - 391KB PDF
Kenmore Historic Properties Survey Report - 4MB PDF
Kent Historic Properties Survey Report - 1MB PDF
Kirkland Midcentury Residential Historic Properties Survey Report - 2MB PDF