Skip to main content
King County logo

NOTICE: There are two embedded maps on this page which may take a few moments to load
See technical notes for geography and poverty definitions


Regions and Health Reporting Areas (HRA) were created to examine geographic patterns below the county level. Four regions—South, Seattle, East and North—are defined either by combined postal ZIP codes or by city-based Health Reporting Areas (below). The city-based boundaries are used whenever possible; ZIP code-based boundaries are used when data are only available by ZIP code (examples include hospitalization data or data from some surveys).

Some slight discrepancies occur in what areas are covered between the HRA and ZIP code based Regions (contact us for a map), with the major differences in the North and Seattle Regions. Two ZIP codes (98177, 98133) span the Seattle—North Region boundary and are included as part of the North Region ZIP-based area. However, the HRA boundary has a clean delineation between Seattle and North Regions. Along the East-South Region boundary, two ZIP codes (98056, 98059) overlap both Regions. 98056 is assigned to South and 98059 is assigned to East.

North Region includes the areas of Bothell, Cottage Lake, Kenmore, Lake Forest Park, Shoreline, and Woodinville. East Region includes Bellevue, Carnation, Duvall, Issaquah, Kirkland, Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, North Bend, Redmond, Sammamish, and Skykomish. South region contains Auburn, Burien, Covington, Des Moines, Enumclaw, Federal Way, Kent, Maple Valley, Normandy Park, Renton, Tukwila, SeaTac, White Center/Boulevard Park, and Vashon Island.

View larger map

Health Reporting Areas

In 2011, 48 Health Reporting Areas (HRAs) were created to more closely coincide with city boundaries, in order to aid in considering issues related to local health status or health policy. Where possible, neighborhoods are defined within large cities, and unincorporated areas of King County are delineated. For confidentiality and data reliability, some areas were combined. HRAs are used whenever we have sufficient sample size to present the data. A map of city-based Health Reporting Areas.

Below is a list of HRAs. Neighborhood-level HRA are grouped under the city of which they are a part:

  • Auburn
    • Auburn-North
    • Auburn-South
  • Bear Creek/Carnation/Duvall
  • Bellevue
    • Bellevue-Central
    • Bellevue-NE
    • Bellevue-South
    • Bellevue-West
  • Black Diamond/Enumclaw/SE County
  • Bothell/Woodinville
  • Burien
  • Covington/Maple Valley
  • Des Moines/Normandy Park
  • East Federal Way
  • Fairwood
  • Federal Way
    • Federal Way-Central/Military Rd
    • Federal Way-Dash Point
  • Issaquah
  • Kenmore/Lake Forest Park
  • Kent
    • Kent-East
    • Kent-SE
    • Kent-West
  • Kirkland
    • Kirkland
    • Kirkland North
  • Mercer Isle/Pt Cities
  • Newcastle/Four Creeks
  • North Highline
  • Redmond
  • Renton
    • Renton-East
    • Renton-North
    • Renton-South
  • Sammamish
  • SeaTac/Tukwila
  • Seattle
    • Ballard
    • Beacon/Georgetown/South Park
    • Capitol Hill/Eastlake
    • Central Seattle
    • Delridge
    • Downtown
    • Fremont/Greenlake
    • NE Seattle
    • North Seattle
    • NW Seattle
    • Queen Anne/Magnolia
    • SE Seattle
    • West Seattle
  • Shoreline
  • Snoqualmie/North Bend/ Skykomish
  • Vashon Island

View larger map