Skip to main content

King County Personnel Board

King County Personnel Board

The King County Personnel Board was created by the County Charter (See Article 5, Section 540) for the purpose of hearing and deciding certain kinds of appeals from County employees who are members of the Career Service and choose not to pursue a grievance procedure under an applicable bargaining agreement, if any.

For information on rules, appeals, and hearings, please refer to the pages on the left-hand navigation.

The board is composed of five members, four of whom (serving a 5-year term) are appointed by the County Executive and one of whom (serving a 3-year unexpired term) is elected by County Career Service employees.

Personnel Board members

James Buck, Appointed Chair
Dawn Thomas, Appointed Vice Chair
Robert Roegner, Appointed Member
Paul Tanaka, Appointed Member
Joe Tessier, Elected Member

Contact information

King County Personnel Board
516 Third Avenue, Room 1222
Seattle, WA 98104

Phone: 206-477-3400