Skip to main content

Solid Waste Disposal and Transfer System - About SWD

Solid waste transfer & disposal system

Solid waste transfer facilities are located throughout King County, outside Seattle city limits. There are eight transfer stations that are used by private hauling companies, businesses, and county residents to dispose of solid waste, yard waste, and recyclable materials. Two rural drop boxes are for the use of residential customers only. At the transfer station loads of garbage are gathered and transferred into larger containers that are transported by truck to the county’s Cedar Hills Regional Landfill for disposal. Recyclable materials are picked up and taken to recycling facilities for reuse.

Houghton transfer station
The Solid Waste Division operates eight transfer stations and two drop boxes in King County.
King County Solid Waste Division mission: Waste Prevention, Resource Recovery, Waste Disposal

Contact Us

 Call: 206-477-4466

TTY Relay: 711