Skip to main content

Community Service Area Subarea Plans

Community Service Area Subarea Plans

Permitting services are available online via this website and For details and information about our new location and office hours, see our Customer Service Bulletin.

These detailed local plans are created in partnership with their communities and adopted by the King County Council, becoming part of the King County Comprehensive Plan and the King County Code.

Each subarea plan…

  • Establishes a vision, goals, and policies to guide development decisions in one of King County’s six rural Community Service Areas or five urban Potential Annexation Areas (see map).
  • Is guided by the community’s interests and available funding, using tools and resources developed by the county’s Office of Equity and Social Justice.

As each community service area subarea plan is developed, Local Services will capture community desires for future King County services, programs, facilities, and capital improvements. These will be used to create a community needs list, which will inform King County’s budget development. (Learn more about subarea plans and community needs lists )


Subarea planners

Jacqueline Reid

Jesse Reynolds


Check the subarea planning schedule below to find out when we expect to work with your community on planning.

King County staff members collaborate with each community beginning in July of the first year and ending in December of the following year, when the King County Executive transmits the recommended subarea plan to the King County Council. The council reviews the recommended plan and offers more opportunities for community engagement before adopting the plan at the end of June, two years after planning work began.

Skyway-West Hill Potential Annexation Area – planning 2018-22, adoption December 2022

North Highline Potential Annexation Area – planning 2019-2022, adoption December 2022

Snoqualmie Valley/NE King Community Service Area – planning 2021-2023, adoption December 2023

Eight Year Comprehensive Plan Update (No Subarea Plan) – planning 2022-2023, adoption June 2024

Greater Maple Valley/Cedar River Community Service Area – planning 2023-20224, adoption June 2025

Fairwood Potential Annexation Area – planning 2024-2025, adoption June 2026

Bear Creek/Sammamish Community Service Area – planning 2025-2026, adoption June 2027

Southeast King County Community Service Area – planning 2026-2027, adoption June 2028

Four Creeks/Tiger Mountain Community Service Area – planning 2027-2028, adoption June 2029

East Renton Potential Annexation Area – planning 2028-2029, adoption June 2030

Federal Way Potential Annexation Area – planning 2029-2030, adoption June 2031

King County had a robust community planning program created in two distinct periods—1973 through 1984, and 1985 through 1994. (See Chapter 11 of the King County Comprehensive Plan for more discussion of these periods.) Since then, there have only been minor plan updates to community plans. The term “community plan” was used to identify the 12 geographic areas that had detailed plans created between 1973 and 1994 (e.g. Bear Creek, Tahoma Raven Heights, Soos Creek).

Plans adopted after the 1994 Comprehensive Plan—the first plan under the Washington State Growth Management Act—that remain active today include the following:

The term “community plan” is no longer being used as a title or descriptor for geographic subareas of King County. (See a full listing of Community Service Area Subarea Plans)

These plans were created during a period when the unincorporated areas of King County absorbed a much higher percentage of population growth than they do under Washington State’s Growth Management Act. The Community Service Area Land use Subarea Plans will play a much different role now that the urban growth areas of King County have reached a point of relative stability. The table below illustrates how the Community Service Areas align with the former Community Planning Areas.

Current Community Service Area Former Community Planning Areas
Bear Creek / Sammamish Bear Creek, Northshore, East Sammamish
Four Creeks / Tiger Mountain Tahoma Raven Heights, Snoqualmie
Greater Maple Valley / Cedar River Tahoma Raven Heights, Soos Creek, East King County, Snoqualmie
SE King County Enumclaw, Tahoma Raven Heights, East King County, Soos Creek
Snoqualmie Valley / NE King County Snoqualmie, East King County, East Sammamish
Vashon / Maury Island Vashon
West King County (unincorporated) Portions of 10 different Community Planning Areas