Skip to main content

Land Conservation Initiative and Equity

Land Conservation Initiative and Equity

Open Space Equity Cabinet

The Open Space Equity Cabinet is composed of community consultants with expertise in equity, livability, and open space topics. The Cabinet’s purpose is to:

  1. Develop recommendations for the County Executive and Council on how to further refine King County Code, processes, and funding sources to ensure more equity in providing access to greenspace and open space;

  2. Advise the County on how to best engage communities and cities to add open space in underserved areas; and to be the region’s “voice” on the issue of open space equity.


Current Members of the King County Open Space Equity Cabinet

Co-Chair Michelle Benetua (Seattle Parks Foundation)

Co-Chair Sarneshea Evans (Trust for Public Land)

Chris Liu (Outdoor Asian)

Gloria Ramirez (Para Los Niños)

Jill Kong (Global to Local)

Johnny Buck (Native Just Transition)

Pah-tu Pitt (Native Kut)

David Bulindah (Wakulima USA)

Adam Dibba (Africans on the Eastside)

Claire Sumadiwirya (Bellden Life Project)

Jacqueline Reyes (The Wilderness Society)

Nura Adam (Immigrant Women’s Community Center)

Mohammed Akmoosh (Arabic Communities of King County)

Manuel Pérez Resendiz (community member)


Emeritus Members of the King County Open Space Equity Cabinet

Lylianna Allala (Founding Co-Chair)

De’Sean Quinn (Founding Co-Chair)

Bridget Ray (Na’ha Illahee Fund)

Ellany Kayce (Nakani Native Program)

Gabriela Quintana

Hoda Abdullah (Living Well Kent)

Jeff Smith (United Indians of All Tribes)

Kim Powe (Puget Sound Sage)

Leda Chahim

Lupita Torrez (Para Los Niños)

Mozart Guerrier (21 Progress)

Niesha Fort-Brooks (Global To Local)

Patricia Palomino (Para Los Niños)

Paulina Lopez (Duwamish River Clean-Up Coalition)

Sandra Simarra (Para Los Niños)

Shamso Issak (Living Well Kent)

Sili Savusa (White Center Community Development Association)

Susan Balbas (Na’ha Illahee Fund)

Tony To (HomeSight)

Vero Huerta (Para Los Niños)

Allan Kafley (ECOSS)

Azucena Muñoz (Para Los Niños)

Sean Watts (SM Watts Consulting LLC) 

Everly-Moey Faleafine (Utopia Washington)

Daniel Oron (Immigrant Women's Community Center)


For more information about the Land Conservation Initiative and Equity, contact Heather Ramsay Ahndan, Project/Program Manager.