Skip to main content
King County logo

The Council's Committee of the Whole (COW) is the only committee on which all nine councilmembers serve. It considers issues of interest to the entire council, including appointments to the State Legislature, department directors, and key subordinate units in the executive branch; the annual legislative program; legislation before the federal, state and local governments that affect King County; the King County Strategic Plan; oversight of Harborview Medical Center; solid waste, including waste to energy; wastewater treatment; parks, recreation and cultural resources; the Office of Law Enforcement Oversight; economic development, including pay equity and income disparity; and other program and policy matters.

Meeting Times: First and third Monday at 1:30 p.m. and special meetings as needed.
Council Chambers, King County Courthouse, 10th floor

Joe McDermott
Vice Chair: Jeanne Kohl-Welles
Members: Rod DembowskiClaudia BalducciReagan Dunn, Larry Gossett, Kathy LambertDave Upthegrove, Pete von Reichbauer

Committee Staff:
Lead Staff: Pat Hamacher
Committee Assistant: Marka Steadman

Committee of the Whole meeting materials

The meeting materials available before each meeting are combined into one PDF document and posted below under Meeting Agendas and Materials. On occasion, not all materials will be available before the meeting. Additional materials for the meeting are posted as they become available.

Please help us save paper by selecting only the section(s) of the document you need to print.

(If links are not displaying below, you may access agenda materials at

Contact the Council
Main phone: