Record a document
Free DD214 Recording
Veterans of the U.S. armed services are entitled to have their Form DD214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty, recorded by King County (or any county in Washington State) at no charge. There are private commercial services that offer to process a DD214 recording, but at a cost to the veteran. These services are not sanctioned or endorsed by King County or the federal Department of Veterans Affairs.
To record your DD214 for free with King County, contact one of our deputy recorders at 206-477-6620 or visit our office at 201 S. Jackson St., second floor, in Seattle. The recording process and certified copies of the recorded document are free to veterans.
You can record a document at the King County Recorder's Office at our Customer Service Center, depositing it in our drop box outside the CSC building, sending it by mail, or by e-recording.
Is your document formatted correctly?
Washington State sets our formatting standards and fees. All documents submitted to the Recorder's Office must be prepared according to these standards ahead of time. While we do not provide templates and cannot assist with the preparation, please do review our formatting tips. If you need help preparing your document, you may consult a title company, real estate attorney, or another professional.
How do I record a document?
Public recording services end at 3:30
In-person service is available at the King County Customer Service Center, 201 S. Jackson St, second floor. Documents to be recorded can also be deposited in the Recorder's Office drop box located outside the building in Seattle's Pioneer Square neighborhood. Be sure to include a check or money order for payment of the recording fee(s). Review our Payment Information for details. Most documents will be available for viewing through our online records search within seven to ten business days after being deposited.
Frequent submitters may find electronic recording more convenient and efficient than submitting hard copies of documents. Customers can submit documents through a third party submitter, or directly through a King County Agent Account. If you are interested in e-recording, please contact the Recorder's Office directly.
Join the Line with QLess
Spend less time in line at the King County Customer Service Center by joining the virtual queue with QLess. Here's how:
- Join the line or make an appointment with this link or by texting the phrase Join the CSC Line to 206-539-0413. You can also use the QLess smartphone app available on most app stores.
- Wait where you want - we'll send you texts about your place in line and when it's time to start heading toward our counter at the King County Customer Service Center.
- When it's your turn, we'll text you to let you know exactly where to go. If you're already at the Customer Service Center, you can watch the screens in the lobbies for your name and which counter to visit.
Fee increase coming Jan. 1, 2024
Most recording fees will increase by $100 starting January 1, 2024. The basic recording fee will be $303.50. The fee increases are mandated by state law.
The fee increase does not apply to:
- assignments or substitutions of previously recorded deeds of trust
- documents recording a birth, marriage, divorce, or death
- marriage licenses issued by a county in Washington state
- documents recording a federal, state, county, city, water-sewer district, or wage lien, or satisfaction of lien
- any recorded documents otherwise exempted under state law
More details, including an updated fee schedule, will be posted in November 2023.
|Documents||Fees as of July 26, 2021|
Note: When recording multiple titles in one document, additional recording fees are required for each title, but additional page fees do not apply.