Skip to main content
King County Courthouse Third Avenue entrance closed until January 1, 2020. Please use alternative routes.  
King County logo

The mission of King County Emergency Management is to provide leadership and high-quality services that improve the safety of the public in King County. Our office specializes in disaster mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. In addition to natural and technological disasters, many homeland security issues are also coordinated through this office.

In addition, a team of volunteers supports King County Emergency Management during activations of our Emergency Operations Center (EOC). The EOC Support Team participates in training, exercises, and emergency coordination activities throughout the year.

Our priorities

    AnnualReport2018_thumbnail

    Our priorities include four specific outcomes:

    • Regional emergency services - To provide region-wide planning and emergency response coordination for jurisdictional and private sector partners.

    • Standards based programs - To achieve a state of continuous improvement by measuring quality, cost, delivery, safety, and morale.

    • Resilient and inclusive systems - To have the ability to prepare and plan for, absorb, respond to, recover from, and adapt more successfully to adverse events.

    • Quality workforce - To develop a strong workforce made up of internal and external partners, ready to coordinate emergency response and recovery.
      • Our  2018-2019 Annual Report provides specific examples of how we've achieved these outcomes.

        Leadership

        Brendan McCluskey, Director
        206-205-4060
        Brendan.McCluskey@kingcounty.gov 

        Alysha Kaplan, Deputy Director
        206-205-4062
        AKaplan@kingcounty.gov 

        Lynne Miller, Media Relations and Joint Information System
        206-205-4031
        Lynne.Miller@kingcounty.gov

        Melody Hall, Confidential Secretary
        206-205-4058
        Melody.Hall@kingcounty.gov

        Finance and Administration

        Veronica Hill, Business Finance Officer III
        206-205-6347
        Veronica.Hill@kingcounty.gov 

        Alvin Edwards, Grant Analyst
        206-205-6345
        ALEdwards@kingcounty.gov 

        Bryan Kim, Grant Analyst
        206-205-6353
        BKim@kingcounty.gov 

        Sherrie Chatman, Administrative Specialist
        206-205-4064
        Sherrie.Chatman@kingcounty.gov 

        External Affairs 

        Barnaby Dow, Senior Program Manager - External and Governmental Affairs
        206-205-4070
        Barnaby.Dow@kingcounty.gov

        Nick Gibbons, Homeland Security Program
        206-205-6352
        Nicholas.Gibbons@kingcounty.gov  

        Sophia Lopez, Public Education and Community Engagement
        206-205-6545
        SLopez@kingcounty.gov

        Tony Cebollero, Emergency Alert System
        206-205-4059
        Anthony.Cebollero@kingcounty.gov 

        Preparedness

        Janice Rahman, Senior Program Manager - Preparedness
        206-205-4061 
        Janice.Rahman@kingcounty.gov

        Derrick Hiebert, Hazard Mitigation
        206-205-4063
        DHiebert@kingcounty.gov 

        Tom Sharp, Mass Care and Response
        206-205-4069
        Tom.Sharp@kingcounty.gov

        Jared Schneider, Dam Safety Program
        206-205-4027
        JASchneider@kingcounty.gov 

        Daniel Arauz, AmeriCorps Fellow - Public Outreach
        206-205-0940
        N-DArauz@kingcounty.gov 

        Operations

        Jennifer Rosenberger, Senior Program Manager - Operations
        206-205-4071
        JRosenberger@kingcounty.gov  

        Eric O'Brien, Training and Exercise
        206-205-4072
        Eric.Obrien@kingcounty.gov

        Jason Shirron, Technical Operations and Volunteer Management
        206-205-4068
        Jason.Shirron@kingcounty.gov

        Ted Toet, CCTA Program
        206-205-4032
        TToet@kingcounty.gov 

        Gerald Woodbridge, Intern - Projects
        206-205-3419
        GWoodbridge@kingcounty.gov 

        Organizational Chart

        King County Emergency Management Organizational Chart

        Zone Coordinators

        Individual jurisdictions within King County have been grouped into three zones for the purpose of addressing and coordinating common emergency management program needs. Designated Zone Coordinators serve as liaisons for the cities, representing our office at the local level and advocating for cities during activations of our Emergency Operations Center.

        • Zone 1 - North end and Eastside 
          Coordinator: Mike Ryan / 425-985-4619

        Beaux Arts Village, Bellevue, Bothell, Carnation, Clyde Hill, Duvall, Fall City, Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, North Bent, Redmond, Sammamish, Shoreline, Skykomish, Snoqualmie, Woodinville, Yarrow Point

        • Zone 3 - South end and Vashon Island
          Coordinator: Sarah Miller / 253-293-5781

        Algona, Auburn, Black Diamond, Burien, Covington, Des Moines, Enumclaw, Federal Way, Kent, Maple Valley, Milton, Normandy Park, Pacific, Renton, SeaTac, Tukwila, Vashon Island 

        • Zone 5 - City of Seattle
          Coordinator: Barb Graff / 206-684-0437 

        Seattle Emergency Management, the Mayor's Office, and city department coordination

        206-296-3830
        Toll Free 1-800-523-5044

        TTY Relay 711