Skip to main content
King County logo

Vision: A County with disaster-ready communities where everyone is prepared for and can recover from emergencies.

Mission: We provide regional leadership to strengthen community resilience and access to emergency services. 

King County Emergency Management provides for the effective direction, control and coordination of County government services functional units; provides liaison with other governments and the private, non-governmental section; and, serve as the coordinating entity for cities, County departments, and other appropriate agencies, during incidents and events of regional significance. This is done in support of the Executive's Vision of King County as a welcoming place where everyone has the opportunity to thrive. 

Emergency management, in general, is the nexus of a number of other practices and professions, focusing them on solving the problems of emergencies and disasters. We specialize in emergency preparedness and emergency operations in the prevention, protection, mitigation, response, and recovery mission areas. This includes hazard and threat identification, risk assessment, capability building, planning, training, exercises, and operational execution and coordination of capabilities.  Our four key initiatives are to develop and provide better situational awareness, strengthen Emergency Operations Center (EOC) readiness, promote public awareness, and contribute to disaster risk reduction.

In addition, a team of volunteers supports King County Emergency Management during activations of our Emergency Operations Center (EOC). The EOC Support Team participates in training, exercises, and emergency coordination activities throughout the year.

Our prioritiesScreenshot_2022-06-16_144949

    Our priorities include four specific outcomes:

    • Regional emergency services - To provide region-wide planning and emergency response coordination for jurisdictional and private sector partners.

    • Standards based programs - To achieve a state of continuous improvement through the adoption of standards-based programs.

    • Resilient and inclusive systems - To develop resilient and inclusive systems for King County departments and the whole community.

    • Quality workforce - To develop a strong workforce made up of internal and external partners, ready to coordinate emergency preparedness and operations.
      • Our 2021 Annual Report provides specific examples of how we've achieved these outcomes.

        Leadership

        Brendan McCluskey, Director
        206-205-4060
        Brendan.McCluskey@kingcounty.gov 

        Alysha Kaplan, Deputy Director
        206-205-4062
        AKaplan@kingcounty.gov

        Sheri Badger, Sr. Communications Specialist- Public Information Officer
        206-205-4031
        SBadger@kingcounty.gov

        Shaunise Sowders, AmeriCorps Fellow
        n-sryan@kingcounty.gov

        Melody Hall, Confidential Secretary
        206-205-4058
        Melody.Hall@kingcounty.gov

        Sherrie Chatman, Business and Finance Officer III
        206-205-4064
        Sherrie.Chatman@kingcounty.gov

        Juanita Cordova, COVID Logistics Team Lead
        206-205-7776
        jcordova@kingcounty.gov

        Nancy Choi, Administrative Specialist III COVID Logistics Team
        206-263-6746
        nchoi@kingcounty.gov

        External Affairs

        Nick Gibbons, Senior EM Program Manager  - External Affairs
        206-205-6352
        Nicholas.Gibbons@kingcounty.gov

        Lexi Swanson, Emergency Management Coordinator - HLS Region 6
        206-205-6545
        alswanson@kingcounty.gov

        Deborah Hunt, Emergency Management Coordinator - Exercise & Evaluation
        206-205-4070
        dhunt@kingcounty.gov

        Susanna Trimarco, Public Outreach Specialist
        206-205-5497
        strimarco@kingcounty.gov

        Nathan Bradshaw, Program Specialist - Zone 1 Liaison
        206-205-6347
        nbradshaw@kingcounty.gov

        Cynthia Foley, Program Specialist - Zone 3 Liaison
        206-205-4074
        cynthia.foley@kingcounty.gov

        Operations and Administration

        Celia Taylor, Senior EM Program Manager - Operations and Administration
        206-205-4066
        CETaylor@kingcounty.gov 

        Nathan Drain, EM Program Coordinator - Finance and Grant Analysis
        206-205-3419
        NDrain@kingcounty.gov

        Jason Shirron, EM Program Manager -Technical Operations and Volunteer Management
        206-205-4068
        Jason.Shirron@kingcounty.gov

        Mikko McFeely, EM Program Coordinator - Crisis Management/Targeted Violence
        206-205-4032
        MMcFeely@kingcounty.gov

        Emilia Jones, EM Program Specialist - Recovery
        206-205-4061
        EMJones@kingcounty.gov

        Andrew Matthews, EM Program Specialist - Finance
        206-205-0463
        Andmatthews@kingcounty.gov

        Preparedness

        Nicole Johnson, Senior EM Program Manager - Preparedness
        206-205-4057
        nicojohnson@kingcounty.gov

        Jared Schneider, EM Program Manager - Mitigation
        206-205-4027
        jaschneider@kingcounty.gov

        Eric O'Brien, EM Program Manager - Training and Exercise
        206-205-4072
        Eric.Obrien@kingcounty.gov

        Tom Sharp, EM Program Manager - LEPC
        206-205-4069
        Tom.Sharp@kingcounty.gov 

        Sasha Rector, EM Program Coordinator - Regional Catastrophic Planning
        206-205-4071
        SRector@kingcounty.gov

        Edan Edmonson, EM Program Coordinator - Dam Safety
        206-205-0940
        eedmonson@kingcounty.gov

        Nathan Emory, EM Program Specialist
        206-205-4059
        nemory@kingcounty.gov

        Ella Liddicoat, AmeriCorps Fellow
        n-eliddicoat@kingcounty.gov

        Organizational Chart

        Screenshot_TofO_2022-10-26_105526

         

         

        206-296-3830
        Toll Free 1-800-523-5044

        TTY Relay 711