Skip to main content
King County logo

Vision: A County with disaster-ready communities where everyone is prepared for and can recover from emergencies.

Mission: We provide regional leadership to strengthen community resilience and access to emergency services. 

King County Emergency Management provides for the effective direction, control and coordination of County government services functional untis; provides liaison with other governments and the private, non-governmental section; and, serve as the coordinating entity for cities, County departments, and other appropriate agencies, during incidents and events of regional significance. This is done in support of the Executive's Vision of King County as a welcoming place where everyone has the opportunity to thrive. 

Emergency management, in general, is the nexus of a number of other practices and professions, focusing them on solving the problems of emergencies and disasters. We specialize in emergency preparedness and emergency operations in the prevention, protection, mitigation, response, and recovery mission areas. This includes hazard and threat identification, risk assessment, capability building, planning, training, exercises, and operational execution and coordination of capabilities.  Our four key initiatives are to develop and provide better situational awareness, strengthen Emergency Operations Center (EOC) readiness, promote public awareness, and contribute to disaster risk reduction.

In addition, a team of volunteers supports King County Emergency Management during activations of our Emergency Operations Center (EOC). The EOC Support Team participates in training, exercises, and emergency coordination activities throughout the year.

Our prioritiesoem-annual-report-2020-snip

    Our priorities include four specific outcomes:

    • Regional emergency services - To provide region-wide planning and emergency response coordination for jurisdictional and private sector partners.

    • Standards based programs - To achieve a state of continuous improvement through the adoption of standards-based programs.

    • Resilient and inclusive systems - To develop resilient and inclusive systems for King County departments and the whole community.

    • Quality workforce - To develop a strong workforce made up of internal and external partners, ready to coordinate emergency preparedness and operations.
      • Our 2020 Annual Report provides specific examples of how we've achieved these outcomes.

        Leadership

        Brendan McCluskey, Director
        206-205-4060
        Brendan.McCluskey@kingcounty.gov 

        Alysha Kaplan, Deputy Director
        206-205-4062
        AKaplan@kingcounty.gov

        Sheri Badger, Sr. Communications Specialist- Public Information Officer
        206-205-4031
        SBadger@kingcounty.gov

        Melody Hall, Confidential Secretary
        206-205-4058
        Melody.Hall@kingcounty.gov

        Finance and Administration

        Celia Taylor, Special Projects Manager - Recovery
        206-205-4066
        CETaylor@kingcounty.gov 

        Sherrie Chatman, Grant Analyst
        206-205-4064
        Sherrie.Chatman@kingcounty.gov

        Nathan Drain, EM Program Coordinator - Finance and Grant Analysis
        206-205-3419
        NDrain@kingcounty.gov

        Deanna Montes, EM Program Coordinator - Finance and Grant Analysis
        206-205-6353
        DMontes@kingcounty.gov

        External Affairs 

        Barnaby Dow, Senior EM Program Manager - External Affairs
        206-205-4070
        Barnaby.Dow@kingcounty.gov

        Nick Gibbons, EM Program Manager - Homeland Security 
        206-205-6352
        Nicholas.Gibbons@kingcounty.gov  

        Sophia Lopez, EM Program Manager - Public Education and Community Engagement
        206-205-6545
        SLopez@kingcounty.gov

        Daniel Arauz, EM Program Assistant- External Affairs and Outreach
        206-205-0940
        DArauz@kingcounty.gov

        Fajr Yousaf, AmeriCorps Fellow
        206-205-6345
        N-FYousaf@kingcounty.gov

         

        Operations

        Janice Rahman, Senior EM Program Manager - Operations
        206-205-4061 
        Janice.Rahman@kingcounty.gov

        Jason Shirron, EM Program Coordinator -Technical Operations and Volunteer Management
        206-205-4068
        Jason.Shirron@kingcounty.gov

        Ted Toet, EM Program Manager - Complex Events

        206-205-4032
        TToet@kingcounty.gov

        Susanna Trimarco, AmeriCorps Fellow

        206-205-5497
        N-STrimarco@kingcounty.gov

        Preparedness

        Nicole Johnson, Senior EM Program Manager - Preparedness
        206-205-4057
        nicojohnson@kingcounty.gov

        Jared Schneider, EM Program Manager - Mitigation
        206-205-4027
        jaschneider@kingcounty.gov

        Eric O'Brien, EM Program Manager - Training and Exercise
        206-205-4072
        Eric.Obrien@kingcounty.gov

        Tom Sharp, EM Program Manager - LEPC
        206-205-4069
        Tom.Sharp@kingcounty.gov

        Organizational Chart

        Zone Coordinators

        Individual jurisdictions within King County have been grouped into three zones for the purpose of addressing and coordinating common emergency management program needs. Designated Zone Coordinators serve as liaisons for the cities, representing our office at the local level and advocating for cities during activations of our Emergency Operations Center.

        • Zone 1 - North end and Eastside 
          Coordinator: Vacant (contact KC OEM)

        Beaux Arts Village, Bellevue, Bothell, Carnation, Clyde Hill, Duvall, Fall City, Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, North Bent, Redmond, Sammamish, Shoreline, Skykomish, Snoqualmie, Woodinville, Yarrow Point

        • Zone 3 - South end and Vashon Island
          Coordinator: Vacant (contact KC OEM)

        Algona, Auburn, Black Diamond, Burien, Covington, Des Moines, Enumclaw, Federal Way, Kent, Maple Valley, Milton, Normandy Park, Pacific, Renton, SeaTac, Tukwila, Vashon Island 

        • Zone 5 - City of Seattle
          Coordinator: Laurel Nelson / 206-233-5075

        Seattle Emergency Management, the Mayor's Office, and city department coordination

        206-296-3830
        Toll Free 1-800-523-5044

        TTY Relay 711