Skip to main content

Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP)

Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP)

The Emergency Management Program for King County is in the consecutive accreditation process, which is necessary before the end of each 5-year Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) accreditation period.  Throughout the last 5 years, the King County EM Program has been updating plans and procedures, conducting gap analyses, and filing annual progress reports with EMAP.  For the past 12 months, the King County EM Program conducted an intensive self-assessment, which was followed by a comprehensive peer review by an outside team of volunteer EMAP assessors.  A decision on the consecutive accreditation is expected in late July 2022. 



In 2017, after an 18-month vetting process involving self-assessment, documentation, and an intensive on-site inspection, the King County EM Program earned its first EMAP accreditation.  This recognition represents a significant achievement.  EMAP is the only accreditation process for emergency management programs, and only 31 county emergency management programs in the U.S. have achieved this mark of professional excellence.  EMAP accreditation is a rigorous process, requiring an in-depth review and validation of the capabilities of King County's regional disaster preparedness and emergency operations systems against 64 industry-recognized, credible standards.  Voluntary participation fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs.

Toll Free 1-800-523-5044

TTY Relay 711